The 2022 Tim Olsen Drawing Prize

Image credit: Amelia van der Laan de Vries, ‘Reproductive Behaviour of Fish’ 2021. Fineliner pen on paper. 40cm x 55cm. Image courtesy: the artist. Winner of the 2022 Tim Olsen Drawing Prize.

UNSW Art & Design proudly presents the 2022 Tim Olsen Drawing Prize and congratulates all students who are recognised as finalists for the $5000 award. 

Tim Olsen has been encouraging and supporting young and emerging artists to build careers as professional practicing artists for over 20 years. This collaboration has been continuously supported by the Olsen Gallery and celebrates students who use drawing as a significant part of their artistic practice.

This year’s exhibition, held at AD Space from 28 September – 9 October 2022, features the work of 21 finalists:

Adrian Mok, Amelia van der Laan de Vries, Anika Campbell, Astrid Elouise Bell, Charles Levi, Conor Parsons, Emma Pinsent, Emma Vey-Cox, Eva Nolan, Evan Ye, George Eggleton, Harrison Mae, Jasmin Smith, Jeremy Smith, Kristy Gordon, Matti, Nicola de Vries, Rachel Hegh, Tia Madden, Vanessa Yeoh, Zoe Patsiokostas.

This year’s judging panel included Associate Professor Emma Robertson (UNSW Art & Design) and Sydney-based artist Giles Alexander.

Some of the artworks in this exhibition engage with themes and imagery that could cause discomfort or be triggering for some.


The winner of the 2022 Tim Olsen Drawing Prize is Amelia van der laan de Vries for their work Reproductive Behaviour of Fish Stage 1 and 2. The judges found this a compelling drawing which challenges and extends a visual language and convention, overlaying aspects of science with art. The work has multiple layers of meaning, and its narrative deeply involves and rewards the viewer. The work was beautifully made with nuanced marks and with great attention to detail, and it had an authentic and handmade quality which made for an absorbing and fascinating outcome. Congratulations to Amelia.

Highly commended

The judges also selected four highly commended artists: Rachael Hegh, Jasmin Smith, Jeremy Smith, Zoe Patsiokostas