• UNSW was named as the top research institution in the field of Architecture by The Australian, in their annual Research Magazine for the third year running. A/Prof. Samad Sepasgozar was also named as the top researcher in the field for the second year in a row.

    Prof. Matt Santamouris was named on the prestigious Highly Cited Researchers list, published by Clarivate. Researchers on the list are in the top 1% by citations in their field globally. Prof. Santamouris was also listed as the number one researcher in the world in Urban Heat Island research, and number two in the world in Architecture, over his lifetime, by ScholarGPS.

    In addition, six UNSW Built Environment and City Futures Research Centre academics were included in the world’s top two percent of cited researchers as computed by Stanford University. These are Prof. Matt Santamouris, Prof. Sisi Zlatanova, Prof. Hazel Easthope, Prof. Michael Ostwald, A/Prof. Riza Yosia Sunindijo and A/Prof. Samad Sepasgozar.

  • Dr. Negin Nazarian awarded the Tim Oke award

    At the 2023 International Conference on Urban Climate, co-chair Dr. Negin Nazarian was awarded the Tim Oke award by the International Association for Urban Climate - this is the highest award in the field for someone at this career stage. Dr. Nazarian has also been selected for the Homeward Bound global leadership program

  • Prof. Robert Freestone was recognised with a Planning Research Award for his project ‘Unrealised Sydney’ at the 2023 Awards for Planning Excellence by the Planning Institute of Australia.

    Prof. Freestone’s work revealed insights into the future of the city by exploring the origins and fate of post-war redevelopment proposals in Sydney’s CBD. The exhibition was hosted at the Museum of Sydney and gave visitors a hands-on opportunity to understand the consequences and challenges of sustainable development.

    Prof. Freestone was also awarded an ‘Outstanding Journal Reviewer’ award from Liverpool University Press for his contribution to the leading journal Town Planning Review for “exceptional service to [the] discipline by contributing timely, rigorous, and thoughtful peer reviews”.

    Prof. Robert Freestone receiving a Planning Research Award
  • Value Australia, part of the PEXA Group, and the brainchild of UNSW City Futures Research Centre and FrontierSI, took the top spot at the 2023 Cooperative Research Australia Awards for Excellence in Innovation, as the winner of the Award for Research Commercialisation. The award was presented to project lead, City Futures Director, Prof. Chris Pettit and FrontierSI's Julia Thompson.

    Prof. Chris Pettit of UNSW City Futures Research Centre and Julia Thompson of FrontierSI receive the Award for Research Commercialisation
  • A team from the School of Built Environment led by A/Prof. Kate Bishop, A/Prof. Paul Osmond and Prof. Linda Corkery won the Research, Policy and Communications Award at the annual Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) awards for their project ‘Randwick Health and Innovation Precinct (RHIP) Living Infrastructure Strategy’.

    The jury noted “this research has widespread applicability as a valuable resource for landscape architecture throughout Australia. It rigorously collates and analyses published research evidence to align health issues with living infrastructure. In proposing a living lab undertaking longitudinal research on designed spaces, it is an important evidence base for landscape architects to design healthy and sustainable places.”

  • Prof. Deo Prasad AO was named a Lifetime Fellow of the Australian Institute of Architects for his “outstanding contribution to the profession through his internationally recognised work in the field of sustainable buildings, cities and the environment.”

    Prof. Prasad is the former Chief Investigator and CEO of the Co-operative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living at UNSW (2012-2019), the largest ever industry-government-professions-research collaboration spin-off in Australia, in the field of the Built Environment.

  • Dr. Elisa Palazzo has been elected Expert Voting member of the ICOMOS/IFLA International Scientific Committee on Cultural Landscapes (ISCCL), representing Australia. The ISCCL is an international committee of scientific experts on cultural landscapes that works as a part of the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS), to develop global guidance on cultural landscape documentation and management, and to prepare expert recommendations for prospective World Heritage nominations.