The 31st Australasian Finance and Banking Conference was held on 13–15 December 2018 at the Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. The PhD Forum was held on 12 December 2018

Keynote speakers

  • David Denis, University of Pittsburgh

  • Andrew Karolyi, Cornell University

  • Rene Stulz, Ohio State University

Prize winners

  • $10,000 awarded to the best paper presented on Capital Markets / Funds Management / Mutual Funds

    Empirical Asset Pricing via Machine Learning
    Shihao Gu, University of Chicago
    Bryan Kelly, Yale University
    Dacheng Xiu, University of Chicago

  • Awarded to the best papers in Banking

    Bank Network and International Trade
    Yue Fang, University of Michigan

  • Awarded to the best paper in Corporate Finance / Corporate Governance / Institutional Block Holders

    Toxic Emissions and Executive Migration
    Ross Levine, University of California Berkeley
    Chen Lin, The University of Hong Kong
    Zigan Wang, The University of Hong Kong

  • Awarded to the best paper using data generated by SIRCA

    Asymmetric Relationship between Order Imbalance and Realised Volatility: Evidence from the Australian Market

    Banita Bissoondoyal-Bheenick, Monash University
    Robert Brooks, Monash University
    Hung Xuan Do, Masser University

  • Awarded to the best paper presented on Derivatives / Quantitative Finance

    Textual Opinion in Analyst Reports
    Kotaro Miwa, Tokio Marine Asset Management

Further enquiries

For any further information or questions please email us at