Scholarships & Prizes

The UNSW School of Risk and Actuarial Studies offers a wide range of scholarships to students who are thinking of applying for an undergraduate degree. We also recognise student excellence through the prizes program. These scholarships and prizes are made possible by the generosity of our individual and corporate donors.  

Every year, we award several prizes for outstanding academic performance. You can view the current prize winners below. Scholarship and prize winners are presented with their award by the Donor or Corporate Representative at an awards ceremony which is held in June each year. The ceremony is one of the School’s most prestigious events in the annual calendar and is attended by over 400 scholars, donors, senior staff and guests. 

Honours Scholarships 

Up to 20 honours scholarships are awarded annually by the Business School. These scholarships provide financial support to outstanding students studying in their Honours year, in any of the disciplinary areas available within the Business School. 

Donated by Finity Consulting 

Awarded for the best performance in the courses ACTL4001, ACTL4002, ACTL4303 or ACTL5100, ACTL5200 and ACTL5303 

2018 winner: Oliver Michael Wood                                 

Value: $1000 

Donated by Actuaries Institute 

Awarded for the best performance in ACTL1101 Introduction to Actuarial Studies 

2018 winner: Ryan Michael Sun                                     

Value: $500 

Donated by Insureware 

Awarded for the best performance in ACTL3003 Insurance Risk Models. 

2018 winner: Johnny Chung Hin Wong                                     

Value: $1000 

Donated by William Wolfenden in memory of his grandfather who was Australia's first actuary 

Awarded for the best performance in Actuarial Studies Honours Year (Coursework and Thesis) 

2018 winner: Carlos Yu Qi Cheng                                                      

Value: $1000 

Donated by Willis Towers Watson 

Awarded for the highest aggregate in ACTL3001 Actuarial Studies, ACTL3002 Life Insurance and Superannuation Models, ACTL3003 Insurance Risk Models and ACTL3004 Financial Economics for Insurance and Superannuation by a graduating student in the Bachelor of Commerce 

2018 winner: Johnny Chung Hin Wong                

Value: $500 

Donated by UniSuper 

Awarded for the best performance in ACTL3191/ECON3114 Superannuation and Retirement Benefits 

2018 winner: Andrew Ma                                                       

Value: $500 

Donated by AIG 

2018 winner: Jack Dajie Jiang 

Donated by KPMG 

2018 winner: Neil Jain