UNSW staff and alumni have received honours at the fourth annual Australian Space Awards.  

UNSW staff and alumni received awards in five categories at the recent Australian Space Awards – the most for any of the universities or organisations nominated. 

The Australian Space Awards set the benchmark for excellence in the field of space, recognising leading organisations and individuals driving the development of Australia’s space economy.  

The awards highlight exceptional contributions and progressive capabilities in the Australian space sector across 20 categories. 

UNSW Canberra Space demonstrated major impact at this year’s awards. Its team was recognised as the Academic Research Team of the Year for dedication in shaping Australia's space industry through innovative and impactful research. Its Director, Professor Russell Boyce, was also recognised with an individual award as Executive of the Year. 

“UNSW Canberra Space is dedicated to growing Australia’s space capabilities,” Prof. Boyce said.

“Our team of exceptional engineers and scientists have set the pace in Australia in innovative space missions, skills and training, and research and mission assurance. This award honours our contribution,” he said.

UNSW Canberra spin-off company and UNSW Canberra Launch partner Skykraft was recognised as the Innovator of the Year (Company). Earlier this year, Skykraft launched Australia’s largest satellite stack, forging the next generation of space-based air traffic management capability. 

Another UNSW Canberra Space spin-off, Nominal Systems, led by Christopher Capon and Brenton Smith, won Start-up of the Year.  

Daniel Joinbee, a UNSW Canberra Bachelor of Science graduate, won Indigenous Space Leader of the Year. 

In one of the largest ceremonies for the Australian Space Awards, over 300 members of the space industry attended, supporting and networking with their peers, colleagues, and industry leaders. 

As Australia’s space capabilities expand, the awards recognise how much the sector has grown and will continue to advance.  

Professor Nicholas Fisk, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Enterprise, said the awards recognise the important role UNSW plays in the ever-evolving and expanding space industry.  

“We’re very proud for our UNSW community to be so recognised for their tangible outcomes benefitting the Australian space sector. This reflects their exceptional dedication to leading cutting-edge and innovative research that puts Australia at the forefront of the global space industry,” Professor Fisk said.  

The full list of Australian Space Awards 2023 winners can be viewed on the Space Connect website.

This article is republished from the UNSW Newsroom under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.