Advisory Committee

Man and women walking in office

Head of School’s Advisory Committee

Our Advisory Committee is a diverse collective of leaders from the Australian Defence Force (ADF), defence allied private industry and the national research community. It acts as an invaluable source of advice, support and information to the Head of School, helping to carry out the school’s vision.

What does the committee do?   

  • Provides advice and utilises networks to increase the visibility of the School of Engineering & Technology (SET) and UNSW Canberra in the ACT and interstate.  
  • Identifies opportunities for penetrating non-Defence government sectors, especially the ACT Government and the Commonwealth Government, for research and education partnerships.  
  • Provides advice to support SET to maintain the highest level of quality in academic offerings, including identifying new course needs.  
  • Facilitates integration with Defence and defence industry workforce planning to enable SET to anticipate future needs and develop appropriate plans of action.  
  • Identifies opportunities that enable SET and UNSW Canberra to become the leading national provider of research and education in defence-related technology. 

Committee members

Neda Aboutorab

Head of School of Engineering & Technology (Acting)

Iven Mareels, Chair

Lab Director, IBM Research

Tony Lindsay 

Director, Lockheed Martin STELLaRL

Alison Lee

Director of Logistics, Penten

Amanda Lewry

Executive Manager Asset Management Australia and the Asia Pacific, GHD

Emily Frizell

CEO of AeroPM


Air Commander Gerry van Leeuwen

Director General - Data & Systems Design

Major General Murray Thompson

Head of ICT operations (HICTO) in Chief Information Officer Group (CIOG)

Rear Admiral Katherine Richards

Chief of Staff, Royal Australian Navy’s Strategic Command

Air Commander Philip Tammen

Director General, Airlift & Tanker Systems, Capability Acquisition and Sustainment Group