UNSW School of Computer Science and Engineering takes pride in recognising and celebrating outstanding academic achievements and contributions to the field. Our exclusive prize ceremony gives award winners, guests, industry sponsors and school representatives the chance to reflect on their accomplishments during this special event.

UNSW School of Computer Science and Engineering Awards 

We’re proud to partner with a diverse range of industry groups and institutions to recognise the hard work and dedication of our students. Our annual awards include individual and group prizes.  

Download our list of 2019 Rising Stars 

Prize Name Prize Winners
The Amadeus COMP9322 Prize Marhadiasha Kusumawardhana
The Atlassian COMP2511, 1st Prize Jonathan Clark
The Atlassian COMP2511, 2nd Prize Ray Clark
Arista Networks COMP9242 Prize James Nugraha
The Displayr COMP4931 Prize, 1st Place Vivian Dang
The Displayr COMP4931 Prize, 2nd Prize Nicholas Malecki
The Displayr COMP4931 Prize, 3rd Place Lucy Qiu
The Hero of Operating Systems Prize Yu Hou
The Jane Street COMP3141 Prize, 1st Place Sean Zammit
The Jane Street COMP3141 Prize, 2nd Place Michael Gribben
The Jane Street COMP3141 Prize, 3rd Place Nanway Chen
The Jane Street COMP3161 Prize, 1st Place Chengyan Yao
The Jane Street COMP3161 Prize, 2nd Place Ryan Fallah
The Jane Street COMP3161 Prize, 3rd Place James Davidson
The Jane Street COMP6752 Prize, 1st Place Courtney Darville
The Jane Street COMP6752 Prize, 2nd Place Vincent Jackson
The Jane Street COMP6752 Prize, 3rd Place Vivian Dang
The Norman Foo Memorial Best Research Paper Prize Annette Spooner
The Microsoft Performance Prize for Year 3, 1st Place Andrew Kaploun
The Niel van der Westhuizen COMP4121 Prize Felix Lempriere
The Optiver COMP6771 Prize Kevin Luxa
The ROKT COMP2041 Prize Chengyan Yao
The UpGuard COMP3411 Prize Ryan Barry
The UpGuard COMP3511 Prize Kangying Lin
The UpGuard COMP6714 Prize Xiaohan Zhu
The UpGuard COMP9243 Prize Michael Gribben
The UpGuard COMP9319 Prize Andrew Kaploun
The UpGuard COMP9444 Prize Aaron Blackwell
The Wargaming Sydney COMP6741 Prize Ian Dunkerley

The Optiver SENG3011 Group Prize

Sophie Collins
Thomas Lo
Erin Moss
Madison Phillips
Michelle Seeto
The Murray Allen Prize in Computer Science Benjamin Sho
The Anita Borg Prize - 1st Prize Gabrielle Younes
The Anita Borg Prize - 2nd Prize Amy Zhou

The Macquarie Seng2021 Group Prize

Alexander Georges
Veeraj Sharma
Allen Wu
Monica He
Sheina Tengara

The Anita Borg Award 

The Anita Borg Award recognises students who’ve made a significant contribution to the benefits of computing for women. If you have an excellent academic record and have completed two years of full-time study with us, you may be eligible for this prestigious award.  

History of the Award  

Dr Anita Borg co-founded the Anitab.org (formerly, The Institute for Women and Technology) in 1997 with the vision to change the world for women and technology. The Institute aims to connect, inspire and guide women to develop to their highest potential in technical fields.  

In 1999, Anita Borg visited UNSW and conducted a workshop in science and technology for primary school girls. It was the first workshop of its kind for this audience.  

In recognition of her significant contribution to women in computing and to UNSW Gernot Heiser and Trudy Weibel established the Anita Borg Award.    

Prize Details 

Nomination: If you’re a Computer Science and Engineering student you can be nominated by a peer, staff member, or you can opt to self-nominate.  

Deadline: November 2021 

Prize amount: $2000 


To be eligible for the award you must: 

  • Be a local or international student studying an undergraduate or postgraduate program  
  • Be enrolled and studying a program offered by the School of Computer Science and Engineering including double degrees 
  • Have completed two-years full-time study by the end of the year before the closing date 

Selection Criteria & How to Apply 

The award will be bestowed on the following basis: 

  1. The recipient has contributed to the promotion/enhancement of the benefits of computing to society. This includes encouraging or facilitating the participation of women in computing; 
  2. Meritorious academic performance, including outstanding performance in the field of computing. 

If you’d like to apply, simply submit a one-page document with:  

  • A description of how you meet the selection criteria above, paying particular attention to criteria 1 
  • Your student number 
  • Full name  

Once you have completed your application, email Shayne Harries