The Dean of the Faculty of Science and an eminent medical researcher are among five UNSW academics named on the 2008 Australia Day Honours List.

Professor Mike Archer has been appointed as a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for his service to science as a paleontologist, to the promotion of sustainable management of animal and plant life, to scientific education and research and through mentoring and administrative roles. For more on Professor Archer's work, visit the Faculty of Science website.

Also awarded AMs were Professor Lesley Campbell, Emeritus Professor Jeremy Davis, Emeritus Professor Tony Vinson and Adjunct Associate Professor Alex Churches.

Professor Lesley Campbell, from the Faculty of Medicine, received an AM for her service to medicine as a clinician, academic and researcher in the field of endocrinology, to the development of the Diabetes Centre at St Vincent's Hospital and through professional organisations.

Emeritus Professor Jeremy Davis, from the Australian School of Business, was awarded an AM for his services to tertiary education, particularly as an educator in the discipline of strategic management, through a range of academic administrative roles, and to business and commerce.

Emeritus Professor Tony Vinson, from the School of Social Studies and International Studies in the Faculty of Arts, was recognised for his service to the nation and humanity. Professor Vinson received an AM for service to social welfare through academic, government and community roles, as a contributor to state and federal policy formulation, and as a champion of social justice.

Also acknowledged was Associate Professor Alex Churches, from the School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering in the Faculty of Engineering, for his work in the promotion and development of mechanical design and his service to engineering and education.

A number of UNSW alumni were also named on the honours list.

For more information on the awards, and those who won them, visit