UNSW staff members have had their commitment to student learning recognised by Australia's pre-eminent learning and teaching body.

The Australian Learning and Teaching Council, formerly the Carrick Institute, has awarded Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning to seven individuals and one team from the University of New South Wales. The awards, which were announced by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Education, Julia Gillard, acknowledge staff that have made a sustained contribution to the quality of student learning.

Dr Wallace Bridge, Faculty of Science; Dr Julie Cogin, Australian School of Business; Associate Professor Barbara Junghans, Faculty of Science; Dr Warren Smith, Australian Defence Force Academy (ADFA); Dr Sue Starfield, The Learning Centre; Associate Professor Stephen Yeomans, ADFA; and Associate Professor Robert Zehner, Faculty of the Built Environment (FBE), were individually recognised for their work.

In recognition of the innovative use of teams, Associate Professor Linda Corkery, Ann Quinlan, Ben Roche and Karin Watson of FBE Out There!, a community engagement program targeting schools, were acknowledged for their 'approach to collaborative built environment design learning that connects community, students and University in mutually beneficial partnerships'.

"The Citations recognise the work of everyone with a role in enhancing student learning," said ALTC Executive Director Professor Richard Johnstone. "Recipients are drawn from a broad range of disciplines and can be found working throughout the organisation".

Click here for full details of the University's recipients of the 2008 Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning.

Media Contact: Victoria Brown | 02 9385 3263 | v.brown@unsw.edu.au