The outstanding achievements of UNSW staff in improving student learning have been recognised with seven citations from the Australian Learning and Teaching Council.

The Council (ALTC) has awarded citations to six individuals and one team from UNSW, among the 200 staff honoured nationally from a record number of universities.

Recognised for their individual achievement are: Graham Forsyth, COFA; Dr Obada Kayali, ADFA; Associate Professor Prem Ramburuth, Australian School of Business; Dr Mohammed Razzaque, Australian School of Business; Dr Nicodemus Tedla, Faculty of Medicine; and Dr Yong Zhong, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.

Dr James Hanson, Emeritus Professor Peter Hall and Vice Admiral David Shackleton won a team award for developing an innovative business curriculum.

"The citations highlight the tremendous commitment in the higher education sector to improving the student experience," ALTC's Executive Director, Professor Richard Johnstone, said.

The awards - worth $10,000 each - are funded by the Federal Government and will be presented in August.

See full details of the UNSW recipients on the ALTC website

Media contact: Denise Knight | 02 9385 8920 |