The finalists have been announced for Australia's most prestigious science awards - the 2010 Eureka Prizes.

Four individual UNSW researchers and a research team will be vying for top honours in five categories. The prizes recognise the achievements of outstanding researchers from universities and research institutions across the nation.

UNSW's finalists come from the fields of photovoltaics, water research, cancer treatment, genetics and interactive digital technology.

Scientia Professor Martin Green is a finalist in the CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science. The Executive Research Director of the ARC Photovoltaics Centre of Excellence in the Faculty of Engineering, Professor Green is a global leader in solar cell technology.

Dr Vanessa Hayes, from the Children's Cancer Institute Australia and the Faculty of Medicine, has been recognised for her work in defining genetic diversity in modern humans and the impact on disease evolution. Dr Hayes is a finalist in the University of New South Wales Eureka Prize for Scientific Research.

Associate Professor Greg Leslie, from the Faculty of Engineering, and collaborator Professor Sutton from the University of Sydney are in the running for the National Water Commission Professor Peter Cullen Eureka Prize for Water Research and Innovation. They have developed a low energy system for irrigating with saline water.

Professor Philip Hogg, Director of the Lowy Cancer Research Centre, is a finalist for the Medical Research Translation prize for inventing a new class of cancer therapeutics that target and disable the 'power supply' of tumour cells.

iCinema Centre for Interactive Cinema Research is up for the Australian Research Council Eureka Prize for Excellence in Research by an Interdisciplinary Team. The centre is a joint venture of the College of Fine Arts and Faculty of Engineering.

In addition, The Copenhagen Diagnosis, an Australian-led international initiative headed by Professor Matt England and Dr Ben McNeill from UNSW's Climate Change Research Centre, is a finalist in the inaugural Eureka Prize for Advancement of Climate Change Knowledge.

For more details, check the Australia Museum website. Winners will be announced on 17 August.

Media contact: Denise Knight, UNSW Media Office, 9385 8920.