The outstanding contributions of UNSW staff to improving student learning have been recognised with seven citations from the Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC).

The seven academics honoured are:

  • Dr Chinthaka Balasooriya, Faculty of Medicine, for the enhancement of scenario based learning through innovative design, excellence in small-group facilitation and wide ranging scholarly contributions.
  • Associate Professor Elizabeth Fernandez, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, for leadership in the development of a research-led innovative curriculum design to enhance scholarship of field-based learning and teaching.
  • Dr Mark Hill, Faculty of Medicine, for design and development of innovative online educational resources, providing a sustained contribution to medical education.
  • Kerry Humphreys, Australian School of Business, for sustained commitment to a 'strategy+numbers' approach that inspires and empowers students using experiential education to become more effective business decision makers.
  • Dr Sidney Newton, Faculty of Built Environment, for sustained leadership in the scholarship of student development as a built environment professional.
  • Dr Helen Pringle, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, for a significant and sustained history of scholarly pedagogic activities that have enhanced student learning in preparation for democratic participation and citizenship.
  • Dr Kerry Thomas, College of Fine Arts, for leadership that shapes the direction of art education and empowers prospective visual arts teachers to make their own distinctive contributions to the field.

The citations - worth $10,000 each - are funded by the Federal Government and will be presented at the Australian Awards for University Teaching at the Sydney Opera House in August.

For more information go to the ALTC website.

Media Contact: Denise Knight, UNSW Media Office, 02 9385 8920