UNSW’s commitment to quality learning has been recognised with four citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning as part of the Australian Awards for University Teaching. 

The five individual UNSW winners were among more than 180 of the nation’s leading university academics and professional staff recognised for their teaching contributions at a reception in Sydney. 

Federal Education Minister Christopher Pyne said he was pleased to be able to recognise the outstanding efforts of dedicated teachers and professional staff in universities. 

"These Citations reaffirm the crucial role staff and teachers play in helping Australian universities to deliver quality education and improve the student learning experience,” Mr Pyne said. 

UNSW Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor Iain Martin also congratulated the winners. 

"I congratulate the five UNSW recipients on their innovation, hard work and dedication. The quality of our academic staff and teachers plays a key role in the experience of our students and also in supporting our position as one of the world’s top 50 universities.” 

The UNSW recipients are: 

Dr Kar Ming Chong for transforming an undergraduate accounting course using an active learning approach involving collaborative learning, innovative technologies and authentic tasks to deepen and enliven students’ learning. 

Professor Sami Kara for developing students’ profesional engineering capabilites using authentic curriculum and progressive feedback, which inspires them by contextualising and applying their learning in real industy practices. 

Dr Rachel Thompson for leading the development of a vibrant  medical education community that has fundamentally enhanced and enriched teaching and learning in the Faculty of Medicine. 

Dr Sue Morris and Associate Proferssor Jacqueline Cranney (team) for using a unique approach underpinned by psychological literacy to motivate students and graduates to enage in successful personal and professional development. 

The Australian Awards for University Teaching are administered by the Office for Learning and Teaching (OLT). A full list of recipients is available at the OLT website.

Media contact: Steve Offner, UNSW Media, 02 9385 1583