Five UNSW academics have been named in this year’s AFR/Westpac 100 Women of Influence Awards for their contribution to diversity, innovation, public policy and global issues.

The awards, now in their fifth year, recognise Australian women who have helped shape an inclusive, economic and social future for Australia.

The University’s awardees include Professor Julie Cogin, Director of the Australian Graduate School of Management; Professor of Law Megan Davis; Professor of Criminology and Academic Chair Eileen Baldry, and; conjoint Associate Professor at the National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre, Nadine Ezard.

Last year, Scientia Professors Jane McAdam and Veena Sahajwalla were named among Australia's top 10 Women of Influence for their work shaping international policies around displaced persons and research into transforming waste materials into valuable commercial products.

Among this year’s finalists, Professor Cogin, who is also Deputy Dean of the UNSW Business School, has been recognised for her work in diversity.

Professor Davis, who is Chair of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Peoples, and who is also on the Federal Government's Referendum Council, is a finalist in the global category.

Leading criminologist Professor Baldry, who, among other things, has investigated why Australia has criminalised so many of its most vulnerable citizens, has been lauded for innovation. She is the Academic Chair, UNSW Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Board.

Conjoint Associate Professor Ezard was recognised for her public policy work, while Conjoint Professor Phelps is a finalist in the Diversity category.

Professors Baldry, Cogin and Davis are among UNSW’s many research trail blazers and feature in UNSW's 15 Women Changing our World.

The overall winner and category winners for the 2016 Women of Influence awards will be announced on 27 October, 2016.