Four UNSW academics have been elected to the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia (ASSA) in recognition of their contributions to their disciplines and to society.

The UNSW researchers are among 46 new Fellows elected to the Academy for 2017.

Fellows are elected by their peers in recognition of their distinguished achievements and exceptional contributions to the social sciences across 18 disciplines.

The new Fellows have significantly advanced research knowledge and developed new approaches to areas as diverse as the social impact of climate change, the regulation and efficiency of financial markets, urban water management, human rights and Indigenous law, Australian history, management accounting, the economics of intellectual property, developmental disabilities and disorders of attention, suicide prevention, Islamic politics and populism, human resource management and workforce diversity, criminology and social work.

The four new UNSW Fellows are:

Professor Eileen Baldry, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Inclusion and Diversity and Professor of Criminology

Professor Ross Buckley, Scientia Professor, UNSW Law

Professor Megan Davis, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous) and Professor of Law

Professor Rick Richardson, School of Psychology

ASSA President Professor Glenn Withers congratulated the 23 women and 23 men elected this year.

“As women hold up half the sky, it is appropriate that these appointments affirm clearly that women and men are being recognised for their equal contribution to social science at the highest levels,” Professor Withers said.

The New Fellows of the Academy will be formally welcomed and inducted at the Academy’s General Meeting and Annual Symposium in Adelaide from 18-20 October, where Indigenous health will be a focus. The symposium is being held jointly with the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences and devoted to the theme of Health and Equity.