Media contact

Julia Jones
UNSW External Communications
0431 194 656

Jennifer Westacott AO and Dr Raji Ambikairajah have been appointed to the UNSW Council by the NSW Minister for Skills and Tertiary Education Geoff Lee.

UNSW Chancellor Mr David Gonski AC said Ms Westacott and Dr Ambikairajah, both graduates of the University, have impressive knowledge and experience that will help UNSW realise its ambitious strategy.

“As Chief Executive of the Business Council of Australia, Jennifer is an important member of the Australian business community, with extensive business and public policy experience in both public and private sectors,” Mr Gonski said.  

“Raji has spent most of her career as a leader in the technology start-up and venture capital sectors. With a wealth of experience across a range of boards and extensive entrepreneurial and IT skills, Raji brings impressive knowledge to Council decision making.”

UNSW President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Jacobs said: “I’m proud to say that Jennifer and Raji are UNSW alumna with long standing connections to the University. Raji is a Director of UNSW Foundation Ltd and Jennifer is an Adjunct Professor at UNSW’s City Futures Research Centre. Both bring unique skills and experience to the Council.”

Dr Ambikairajah’s four-year term will commence 1 July 2020, while Ms Westacott’s term commenced 1 January 2020. They replace outgoing Council members Jillian Segal AO and Brian Long.

The Council is the UNSW’s governing body and is responsible for acting on the University’s behalf to promote its objectives and interests.

Today the Council consists of 15 members with a variety of internal and external perspectives. Five members are elected by staff and students, two members are appointed by the State Minister for Education and five members by the Council itself. There are three official members, including the Chancellor, the President and Vice-Chancellor and the President of the Academic Board.