Our people

Meet the minds shaping tomorrow at the School of Systems & Computing.

UNSW Canberra City Campus Stock ImageryProfessional Eduaction, profed, cyber, industry, postgrad, post graduate,

School Executive

Deputy Head of School - Education Erandi Hene Kankanamge
Deputy Head of School - Education
Daryl Essam headshot
Deputy Head of School – Research
Director - Capability Systems Centre Sondoss El Sawah
Director - Capability Systems Centre

Teaching Coordinators

Bachelor of Computer & Cyber Security Coordinator Faycal Bouhafs
Bachelor of Computer & Cyber Security Coordinator
Postgraduate Coordinator - Systems Engineering Huadong Mo
Postgraduate Coordinator - Systems Engineering
Postgraduate Coordinator - Cyber Security Tim Lynar
Postgraduate Coordinator - Cyber Security
Postgraduate Coordinator - Cyber Security Operations Siqi Ma
Postgraduate Coordinator - Cyber Security Operations
Postgraduate Coordinator - Decision Analytics Ripon Chakrabortty
Postgraduate Coordinator - Decision Analytics

Research Coordinators

Daryl Essam headshot
Deputy Head of School - Research
Research Student Candidature Coordinator (PGC) Saber Elsayed
Research Student Candidature Coordinator (PGC)
Research Communication Coordinator Sayed Amir Hoseini
Research Communication Coordinator
Students Admissions Coordinator Nan Sun
Students Admissions Coordinator

Administration Coordinators

Academics and Visitors

HDR Students

Name Email Field of Research
Zhongju Wang zhongju.wang@unsw.edu.au Machine learning, deep learning, time series forecasting, anomaly detection
Md Mizanur Rahman md_mizanur.rahman@unsw.edu.au Network and Systems Security, Human Computer Interaction, Privacy and Security, and Machine Learning.
Wasura Wattearachchi w.wattearachchi@adfa.edu.au Computer Science
Mani Bakhshi Sasi m.bakhshi_sasi@adfa.edu.au Computer Science, Data Science, Supply Chan Management, Algorithm and Optimization, Disruption and uncertainty
Daoheng Zhang alan.zhang1@adfa.edu.au Robust Optimization and Its applications into Supply chain planning
Mohammad Mogharen Askarin m.mogharen_askarin@adfa.edu.au Pattern Recognition
YIFAN XIN yifan.xin@adfa.edu.au Operations Research and Optimization, Artificial Intelligence, Sustainable Supply Chains, Carbon Neutrality
Mahmuda  Akter  z5292850@ad.unsw.edu.au Edge Intelligent based privacy protection
Wael Eid Fathi Issa w.issa@adfa.edu.au Computer Science & Cyber Security
Ahmed Reda Mostafa Aldysty a.aldysty@adfa.edu.au CyberSecurity
Hania mohamed hanya.mohamed@adfa.edu.au Cyber security 
Misbah Khan z5307913@ad.unsw.edu.au Blockchain-Computer Science 
Anupama Arukgoda a.arukgoda@adfa.edu.au Multi-Agent Systems, Explainable AI
Tanvir Islam tanvir.islam@adfa.edu.au Machine Learning models for Energy demand forecasting
Muhammad Muhsin m.muhsin@adfa.edu.au Socio-Environmental Systems Modelling
Reda Mohamed Mohamed Ghanem reda.ghanem@unsw.edu.au Artificial intelligence
Yomna Mohamed Mokhtar Ibrahim y.ibrahim@adfa.edu.au Cybersecurity 
Md Imran Hossain md_imran.hossain@adfa.edu.au Cybersecurity (Blockchain in UAV Networks)
Abu Hashan Md Mashud a.mashud@adfa.edu.au Supply chain management
Amin Zakhirehkar Sahih  a.zakhirehkar_sahih@adfa.edu.au Decentralized renewable energy trading
Syed Shahzad s.shahzad@adfa.edu.au Cybersecurity Engineering
Alexandros Karatopouzis a.karatopouzis@adfa.edu.au Systems Engineering
Zhanzhongyu GAO z5413488@ad.unsw.edu.au System Engineering (Change point Detection)
Setyo Tri Windras Mara s.windras_mara@adfa.edu.au Operations Research, Combinatorial Optimization, Transportation Science
Mohammed Tanvir Masud mohammed_tanvir.masud@adfa.edu.au Cybersecurity, Cyber Resilience, Explainable Artificial Intelligence
Sayem Ahmed sayem.ahmed@unsw.edu.au Supply Chain Integrated Production-Distribution Scheduling
Hassan Wasswa h.wasswa@adfa.edu.au Pattern Recognition
Uzzam Javed u.javed@adfa.edu.au; uzzam.javed@unsw.edu.au Software defined and programmable wireless networks; Cyber security; Wireless Spectrum Sharing