In 2009, a record 800-plus projects were submitted for the AIA state and territory Architecture Awards, with 144 rewarded. Of these, 32 projects and practices were honoured in a ceremony in Melbourne on 29 October at the 2009 National Architecture Awards or Commendations.

Built Environment extends congratulations to the following staff members and alumni nationally recognised this year:

Public Architecture
The Sir Zelman Cowen Award for Public Architecture
National Portrait Gallery, Canberra, ACT - Johnson Pilton Walker

National Award for Public Architecture
All Saints Primary School, Belmore, NSW - Candalepas Associates

National Commendation for Public Architecture
Faculty of Law, Library and Teaching Complex, University of Sydney, NSW - Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (fjmt)

Residential Architecture – Houses
The Robin Boyd Award for Residential Architecture - Houses
Freshwater House, Harbord, NSW - Chenchow Little Architects – UNSW Alumni

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing
National Architecture Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing
Pindari, Kensington, NSW - Candalepas Associates

Commercial Architecture
National Award for Commercial Architecture
Headquarter Sussan Sportsgirl, Cremorne, Victoria - Durbach Block Architects

National Commendation for Commercial Architecture
HASSELL Warry Street Studio, Fortitude Valley, Queensland - HASSELL

Sustainable Architecture
National Award for Sustainable Architecture
VS1/SA Water Head Office, Adelaide, South Australia - HASSELL

Small Project Architecture
National Award for Small Project Architecture
Ang House, Mosman, NSW - Chenchow Little Architects

Interior Architecture
National Award for Interior Architecture
National Portrait Gallery, Canberra, ACT - Johnson Pilton Walker

Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture
Snowy Mountains House, Snowy Mountains, NSW - James Stockwell Architect
James Carraick – structural engineer