Three School members have been awarded medals for their distinguished contributions to research.

The Australian Academy of Science awarded its 2011 Hannan Medal for research in applied mathematics and computational mathematics to Emeritus Professor Colin Rogers for his work on nonlinear dynamics relevant to physical systems.

The 2011 Moran Medal for research in statistics,  also from the Australian Academy of Science, went to Dr Scott Sisson (jointly with Dr Mark Tanaka), for his work on computational statistics and extreme value theory. Scott is a an ARC Queen Elizabeth II Research Fellow in the School.

More details on the awards.

ANZIAM (Australia and New Zealand Industrial and Applied Mathematics) awarded its 2011 JH Michell Medal to Dr Frances Kuo. Dr Kuo is also an ARC Queen Elizabeth II Research Fellow. Her work is in quasi-Monte Carlo methods for high-dimensional integration.