The School is delighted to announce that two of our top researchers, Associate Professors Gary Froyland and David Warton, have each been awarded 2012 ARC Future Fellowships.

The Future Fellowships scheme, designed by the government to promote research in areas of significant national importance, provides incentives to outstanding researchers to undertake their research in Australia. Future Fellowships aims to attract and retain the finest mid-career researchers.

Froyland and Warton are among 14 UNSW researchers awarded in the 2012 round of the scheme, which affords recipients four years to focus exclusively on research.

Under the Fellowship, A/Prof Froyland will develop new mathematical technologies to reveal hidden transport barriers around which complicated fluid flow is organised.

A/Prof Warton’s project will accelerate the development of advanced tools for answering fundamental questions concerning the potential impact of climate change on ecological communities.

Head of School Bruce Henry, who refers to Froyland and Warton as “star researchers”, points out that only those “performing at the top level” are recognised by the ARC Future Fellowships. A/Prof Henry highlights both individuals’ strength in research, demonstrated by past prestigious awards.

A/Prof Froyland received the BHP Billiton Innovation Prize in 2004, and a John Yu Fellowship to Europe (2006), while A/Prof Warton was the recipient of a Tall Poppy Award in 2009.

The School proudly congratulates Associate Professors Gary Froyland and David Warton for their Future Fellowships success.

   Associate Professor
   Gary Froyland
   Associate Professor
   David Warton