Built Environment wishes to congratulate the many alumni, staff and friends of the Faculty who received awards at the 2013 Australian Institute of Architects’ NSW Architecture Awards night.

The annual awards night was held in the historic Jones Bay Wharf on Thursday 27 June. A total of twenty-seven awards, eight prizes and fourteen commendations were presented in recognition of the best in architecture across the state.

Dean, Professor Alec Tzannes is also Director of Tzannes Associates. His firm was among one of the many BE affiliates who were recognised for their outstanding work. Tzannes Associates received commendations for the Bellevue Hill Residence under the Residential Architecture - Houses category.

Johnson Pilton Walker, a multi-disciplinary design practice founded by BE Professor of Practice and alumnus Richard Johnson, was chosen by the Small Project Architecture jury to receive the Robert Woodward Award for their project Art Gallery of New South Wales Forecourt Upgrade.

The AMP Building Sydney Cove by PTW Architects was also recognised with the Award for Enduring Architecture. PTW Architects is an employer of many BE alumni, including BE Adjunct Professor Diane Jones.

For the full list of prize winners visit the AIA website.