Sci. Prof. Trevor McDougall
The School is very proud to announce that Scientia Professor Trevor McDougall has been awarded the Royal Society of Tasmania Medal. The medal was announced at the AGM of the Royal Society of Tasmania on Tuesday 4th March.

The Royal Society of Tasmania Medal, established in 1927, is awarded to a scholar for substantial original research in any subject within the Society’s purview. Recipients, who are required to be active members of the Society for at least five years, are invited to deliver ‘The Royal Society of Tasmania Lecture’.

“The Society is an outstanding supporter of Australian science and I am privileged to be following in the footsteps of eminent scientists who have received this Award”, Sci. Prof. McDougall said.

This is not the first time that the Society has recognised Sci. Prof. McDougall’s exceptional work. In 1998 he received the Royal Society of Tasmania’s MR Banks Medal, which honours outstanding academic achievement by a mid-career scientist under 45 years of age.

Sci. Prof. McDougall joined the School in early 2012, and is regarded as one of the world's most eminent oceanographers. He is a world expert on ocean mixing processes, and how these processes are represented in ocean models. Sci. Prof. McDougall's significant advances have become pivotal to the field. He launched his career as a physical oceanographer at the CSIRO in 1983, and worked with the organisation for almost three decades.  

Among his many accolades and awards throughout his impressive career, Sci. Prof McDougall was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of London in 2012. His other fellowships include the Institute of Physics (UK, 2012), the CSIRO (2007), the Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society (2004), and the Australian Academy of Science (1997).

Sci. Prof McDougall was the first Australian recipient of the Prince Albert I Medal, awarded in 2011 by the International Association for the Physical Sciences of the Oceans. He was appointed a Scientia Professor at UNSW the following year.  

We warmly congratulate Sci. Prof Trevor McDougall for his latest award!