On Wednesday 27 May, two of our staff members were presented with Australian Academy of Science awards during a ceremony at the 2015 Science at the Shine Dome event.

Associate Professor Catherine Greenhill was conferred the 2015 Christopher Heyde Medal, which recognises distinguished research in the mathematical sciences by researchers up to 15 years post-PhD in the year of nomination.

A/Prof Catherine Greenhill is internationally recognised as a leading expert in asymptotic, probablilistic and algorithmic combinatorics, undertaking research at the interface between combinatorics, probability and theoretical computer science.

A/Prof Greenhill received the award jointly with Dr Scott Morrison from the Mathematical Sciences Institute at Australian National University. She was invited to deliver a talk about her research at the award ceremony. Watch Catherine's talk.

Scientia Professor Trevor McDougall received the 2015 Jaeger Medal for Research in Earth Sciences.

Professor McDougall is internationally renowned for his ground-breaking work on ocean mixing processes and the thermodynamics of seawater. The Jaeger Medal is awarded to a scientist for investigations of a high order into the solid Earth or its oceans carried out in Australia, or having some connection with Australian Earth science.

After being presented with his medal, Trevor gave a talk about his area of research. Watch Trevor's talk.

We congratulate both Catherine and Trevor for their latest achievements!


(Photos courtesy of Mark Graham)