Congratulations to UNSW Art & Design students and graduates Heath Franco, Leahlani Johnson, Sarah Mosca and Tom Polo who have been shortlisted for the NSW Government’s presitgious 2015 NSW Visual Arts Fellowship (Emerging).

They are among a selection of twelve emerging artists who will work closely with Artspace’s Executive Director Alexie Glass-Kantor and Curator Sebastian Goldspink, to further develop their work for the finalists’ presentation in November.

The $30,000 fellowship is open to NSW based artists who are at the beginning of their careers with the winner to undertake a self-directed program of professional development.

The NSW Visual Arts Fellowship is Artspace’s key exhibition for profiling the dynamism and breadth of emerging contemporary artistic practice across NSW.

The winner of the fellowship will be announced on opening night of the finalists exhibition. Last year, Master of Fine Arts graduate Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran was awarded the 2014 NSW Visual Arts Fellowship (Emerging). 

The other artists who have been shortlisted include Lucas Davidson, Emily Hunt, Stevie Fieldsend, Biljana Jancic, Mason Kimber, Nicola Smith, Angela Tiatia and Justine Varga.