By Paul Denham

Last night over 350 students, staff, industry colleagues and family packed the Leighton Hall at UNSW Kensington campus for the 2016 Built Environment Awards and Prizes ceremony.

The ceremony shines a spotlight on those students who have excelled at academic performance throughout the year. Over 80 awards, prizes and scholarships were recognised last night and in many cases students were presented their awards by private donors and industry partners who have generously supported UNSW Built Environment and their students.

The evening was hosted by Deputy Dean, Alan Peters and Dean, Professor Helen Lochhead, gave a welcome and closing address.

"Having heard tonight the breadth and quality of our student’s achievements, I have been both impressed and greatly encouraged by what I see as the next group of architects and designers, planners, project managers and allied professionals pursuing careers in built environment fields. It’s in good hands. Our Faculty alumni have excelled in their professions and I look forward to one day hearing of your achievements as a Built Environment alumnus," Professor Helen Lochhead, Dean UNSW Built Environment.

The final speaker of the evening was special guest, Amelia Holliday, UNSW Built Environment alumna and Co-founder of Aileen Sage Architects. Holliday encouraged the students to collaborate and grab and maximise all the opportunities that present themselves.

Above: Amelia Holliday addresses guests 

Image: Reece McMillan

Congratulations to all the winning students last night and and enormous thank you to the incredible generosity of our private donors and industry partners who donated their time and money so generously.

Click here for a full list of prizes.

Please share with your friends, family and industry and academic colleagues and download any images you wish to keep.

Click on the image below for picture galleries.

Above: Industrial Design students from left, Rohann Toneja, Lornia Shi, James Anderson, Rosabel Santos & Frederique Sunstrum all won the Caroma Ergonomics Award for Bathroom Design.

Image: Reece McMillan