UNSW Art & Design higher degree research candidate Brook Stamp, who is currently undertaking a Master of Fine Arts, has been awarded the highly prestigious 2016 Australia Council Fellowship for Dance.  Brook, who is both a dancer and choreographer, says the $80,000 fellowship will help support and propel the next two years of her creative practice.  

Australia Council Chief Executive Officer Tony Grybowski congratulated the seven artists recognised with these national fellowships, highlighting that the awards are an integral part of the Australia Council’s grants program, providing outstanding practitoners with the opportunity to broaden their professional experience and build upon their significant body of work.

“Fellowships are awarded to established artists who are recognised for excellence in their practice at a local and international level,” said Mr Grybowski. “This will enable them to develop, experiment, research and explore new opportunities and approaches in their chosen art form.”

Representing a-once-in-a-life opportunity, Australia Council Fellowship recipients are chosen by their peers.  The program is a key part of the Australia Council’s commitment to investing in the professional development of artists and for supporting creative innovation and collaboration which that enhances the profile of Australia’s rich artistic culture.

The 2016 Australian Council Fellowship recipients include:

  • Bec Reid - Community Arts and Cultural Development
  • Brooke Stamp -  Dance
  • Dr Sarah Jane Pell -  Emerging and Experimental Arts
  • Julia Leigh - Literature
  • Sandy Evans - Music
  • Katerina Kokkinos-Kennedy - Theatre
  • Danie Mellor - Visual Arts