Carriageworks and UrbanGrowth NSW (the state government’s urban transformation agency) have launched a new collaborative initiative – Artist Studios at The Clothing Store. To be run from the multi-purpose Eveleigh creative precinct, the project invites artists to take up residencies in fully refurbished and subsidised studio and exhibition spaces occupying the historic Clothing Store.  

Built in 1913, the Clothing Store is part of the historic Eveleigh Railway Workshops that include Carriageworks and Australian Technology Park. The residencies will activate this important heritage building under an agreement between UrbanGrowth NSW and Carriageworks to use the Clothing Store as a unique collaborative community space open to a range of arts and community partners.

The Clothing Store Artist Studio Program provides subsidised space to support artists to undertake ambitious projects, sustain their practice, and work collaboratively with Carriageworks to engage the local community. The eight selected creative practitioners will lead community workshops throughout the year, providing opportunities for people to take part in art and cultural activities that reflect the area’s rich culture and history.

Carriageworks Director and UNSW Art & Design graduate, Lisa Havilah, said, “Carriageworks is committed to supporting artists and the development of their practice by providing affordable space for artists to create work, and for the local community to engage with art and culture that reflects both our heritage and contemporary urban setting.”

North Eveleigh Program Director, Duncan Read, said, “UrbanGrowth NSW is committed to creating community facilities that recognise and celebrate the unique history and contemporary nature of this important part of Sydney. While the long term uses and ownership of the Clothing Store are yet to be decided, the activation will help inform our ideas.”

The 2017 Clothing Store Artist Studio recipients are Tony Albert (UNSW Art & Design), Tully Arnot (UNSW Art & Design), Mikala Dwyer (UNSW Art & Design), Samuel Hodge, Nell, Claudia Nicholson (UNSW Art & Design), Phaptawan Suwannakudt and Other Architects.