The UNSW Business School 2017 Staff Excellence awards recognise the outstanding contribution of academics and professional staff who have excelled, going above and beyond what is expected of them.

The 2017 awards were presented this week by Prof Chris Styles, Dean, Prof Mark Uncles, Deputy Dean, Education, Prof Julie Cogin, Director AGSM and Deputy Dean, Prof Elizabeth Carson, Deputy Associate Dean (Research), Mr Nigel Poole, General Manager Award categories included professional staff excellence and teamwork, teaching excellence, teaching innovation, outstanding research supervision, facilitation and tutoring.

Professor Styles said the awards bring together all members of staff and honour those whose performance has consistently exceeded expectations. This is an occasion to celebrate all professional and teaching staff and to recognise the quality of learning and teaching at the Business School.

The 2017 award winners are:

Teaching Awards:

The John Prescott Outstanding Teaching Innovation Award
Dr. Felix Tan and Dr. Michael Cahalane, School of Information Systems & Technology Management

The Bill Birkett Award for Teaching Excellence
A/Prof. Tania Bucic, School of Marketing

UN PRME Excellence in Teaching Award
A/Prof. Anthony Asher, School of Risk & Actuarial Studies

Business School Award for a Program that Enhances Learning
Dr. Kevin Liu, School of Risk & Actuarial Studies

Excellence in Team Teaching Award
The winning team comprises: A/Prof. Kerry Humphreys, David Wright, Ed Harbor, Jonathan Yuen & Kelly Wang, School of Accounting

The Dean's Citation for Outstanding Service Award
Dr. Kevin Clarke, AGSM

Excellence in Tutoring Award
Jonathan Yuen, School of Accounting

Outstanding Postgraduate Research Supervision Award
Prof. Alan Woodland, School of Economics

AGSM Awards:

AGSM Programs: Teaching Excellence in a Core Course

Dr. Kevin Clarke

AGSM Programs: Teaching Excellence in an Elective Course
Dr. Jane Qui

AGSM Award for Teaching Excellence in an Online Environment
Dr. Andre Taylor

AGSM Executive Education Outstanding Faculty Facilitator
Andrew Williams

The Marcus Cohen Teaching Excellence for AGSM Teaching by Adjunct Faculty
Brad Smith

AGSM Belia le Tet Memorial Award for Outstanding Service
Leanne Kourt and Robyn Carney

Non-Professorial Research Achievement Awards:
Dr Rahul Govind, Senior Lecturer, School of Marketing
Dr Hongyi Li, Lecturer, School of Economics
Dr Seojeong (Jay) Lee, Lecturer and ARC DECRA Fellow, School of Economics
Dr Felix Tan, Lecturer, School of Information Systems
Dr Jonathan Ziveyi, Senior Lecturer, School of Risk & Actuarial Studies

Professional Staff Awards:

Pat Hillary Staff Excellence Award (Individual) Leanne Kourt, AGSM

Pat Hillary Staff Excellence Award (Team) The Finance Hub team, comprising Benjamin Li, Anmol Bhaumik, Madeline Johan, Shivani Chhetri, Alexandra Kim, Deepti Dhakal and Mathew Cheung