The finalists in the inaugural Ravenswood Australian Women’s Art Prize, conceived to recognise the immense talent that exists among contemporary Australian female artists have been announced and many of the participants are UNSW Art & Design graduates.

The aim of the prize is to raise the level of awareness and value of female artists and the works that they produce.  At the same time, the prize strives to inspire practitioners themselves, lifting their profiles, and helping to legitimise the professional career of female creative practitioners in Australia today. 

Two prizes – including the AUD $35,000 grand prize (the richest art prize for women in the country) – are on offer and will be awarded on merit for outstanding artwork created around the theme ‘flourish’.   

Mark Steinert, Chairman of the Ravenswood Foundation, said “It is an honour to launch the first Ravenswood Australian Women’s Art Prize. The prize has been established to raise the profile of this country’s great female artists and to assist in helping the next generation of artists reach their fullest potential.”

Artwork judging will be overseen by 2017 Prize Patron, the acclaimed artist, Jennifer Turpin, and the winners announced at the exhibition opening on 4 August 2017.

Finalists for the Ravenswood Australian Women’s Art Prize include: 

Lisa Anderson, Susan Andrews (UNSW Art & Design), Louisa Antico, Kylie Banyard (UNSW Art & Design), Elizabeth Barnett, Rose Basile, Lauren Berkowitz, Di Bresciani, Kathryn Brimblecombe-Fox, Clare Brodie, Phillipa Butters, Filippa Buttitta (UNSW Art & Design), Fiona Cabassi, Sophie Cape, Michelle Cawthorn (UNSW Art & Design), Magda Cebokli, Ellie Chalmers-Robinson, Jacky Cheng (UNSW), Katrina Collins, Melissa Coote (UNSW Art & Design), Penny Coss (UNSW Art & Design), Fiona Cotton, Vicki Cullinan, Vivienne Dadour, Sophie Dalgleish, Sally Davis, Rox De Luca, Tamara Dean (UNSW Art & Design), Anne Delaney, Sofie Dieu, Christine Druitt-Preston, Susie Dureau, Amy Dynan, Anne Fontaine, Sai Wai Foo, Belinda Fox, Cathy Franzi, Adrienne Gaha, Anna Glynn, Jane Guthleben, Anne Hayes, Suze Heymans, Di Holdsworth, Polly Hollyoak, Eunjoo Jang, Sandra Kiris, Joanna Kitas, Amber Koroluk-Stephenson, Madeleine Luschwitz, Gemelle Madigan, Deborah Marks (UNSW Art & Design), Melinda Marshman, Laura Matthews, Myra Mitchell, Victoria Monk, Christina Newberry, Fran Nott, Anne Numont (UNSW Art & Design), Veronica Oborn Jefferis, Angela Parragi, Pamela Pauline, Sue Pedley (UNSW Art & Design), Carolyn Pettigrew, Jenny Pollak (UNSW Art & Design), Catriona Pollard, Marisa Purcell (UNSW Art & Design), Deborah Ralph, Amelda Read-Forsythe, Jeannette Rein, Joan Ross (UNSW Art & Design), Marnie Ross (UNSW Art & Design), Penny Ryan, Tracey Schramm, Valentina Schulte, Valerie Sparks, Kate Stewart, Julie Strawinski, Vicki Sullivan, Derryn Tal, Wendy Teakel, Rosemary Valadon, Kate Vassallo, Judith White, Shona Wilson, and Bronwyn Woodley Graham.

Ravenswood Australian Women’s Art Prize Exhibition Running Dates:  5-12 August.

Artist Talks: Sunday 6 August at 3.00pm (Jenny Turpin and Jade Oakley); and Wednesday 9 August at 6.00pm (Susie Dureau)