Congratulations to Gary Liang, who won the 2017 Advanced Mathematics Honours Scholarship.

Gary was presented with the Scholarship by Professor Bruce Henry at this month's sixth annual Advanced Mathematics Day, held in the Scientia.

Gary's outstanding academic performance in Semester 1 courses secured him the award.

The full day event hosted sessions tailored to different student groups, with first and second year students hearing from Heads of Department Daniel Chan, Scott Sisson, and Josef Dick, PhD student Anna McGann, and MathSoc President Robert Tan.

Pre-Honours students attended an Honours Info Session faciliated by Honours Director Shane Keating, featuring a panel discussion with current and former Honours students Michela Castagnone, Fadi Antown and Prosha Rahman fielding questions from the audience. Three-minute flash Honours project talks were presented by Chris Angstmann, Jan Zika, Mircea Voineagu, Alina Ostafe, Zdravko Botev, Peter Straka, and Deborah Cromer (from the Kirby Institute).

Following lunch in the Tyree Room, the higher degree students attended presentations by Jan Zika, David Warton, and Ian Doust. Once the day was wrapped up, students and staff enjoyed drinks in the Scientia foyer.