Congratulations to all the nominees and winners of the 2017 Research Excellence Awards


  •  Outstanding Evolution & Ecology (Postgraduate) Researcher: Kobe Martin
  •  Outstanding Evolution & Ecology Student Paper: Amy Hooper

      Hooper, A.K., Lehtonen, J., Schwanz, L. and Bonduriansky,  R. 2018. Sexual competition and the evolution  of condition-dependent ageing. Evolution Letters (in press).

     RUNNER UP: Nathan Burke

     Burke, NW & Bonduriansky, R. 2017. Sexual Conflict, Facultative Asexuality, and the True Paradox of Sex.  Trends in Ecology and Evolution 32(9):646-652

  • Outstanding Outreach and Communication: Claire Brandenburger



  • Citation Classic Award: Shinichi Nakagawa

     Nakagawa, S & Schielzeth, H (2013) A general and simple method for obtaining R2 from generalized linear mixed-effects models. Methods in Ecology and Evolution. 4:133-142

     658 cites in 2017

  •  E&ERC Impact Paper Award: Bill Sherwin

      Sherwin WB, Chao A, Jost L, Smouse PE. 2017. Information Theory Broadens the Spectrum of Molecular Ecology and Evolution.  Trends in Ecology and Evolution 32(12):948 - 963 

                2016 impact factors:   1-yr 15.268;    5-yr 18.35

                ranking within discipline ‘Evolutionary Biology’ 1/48

                ranking within discipline ‘Ecology’ 1/153

      RUNNER UP: Alistair Poore - Poore, AGB, ST Ahyong, JK Lowry and EE Sotka. 2017. Plant feeding is associated with high species richness in the Crustacea. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, USA. 114: 8829–8834.

                Impact factor (2016): 9.661

                Rank in discipline: 4th of 64 journals in Multidisciplinary sciences

                A* in ERA classification

  •  Significant collaboration Award: Mariana Mayer-Pinto

      Mayer-Pinto, M; Johnston, EL; Bugnot, A; Glasby, TM; Airoldi, L; Mitchell, A; Dafforn, KA (2017). Building ‘blue’: an eco-engineering framework for foreshore developments.Journal of Environmental Management 189: 109-114.


  • E&ERC Supervisor Excellence Award: Jason Everett and Tracey Rogers



  • Outstanding student in Ecology: Cassandra Murphy
  • Outstanding student in Evolution: Marissa Baptista