UNSW Engineering’s top students were celebrated at the Deans Awards at Leighton Hall on Tuesday 10 April.

The annual awards honour the top 100 undergraduate students, based on academic results from 2017, and this year four students also received Student Services Awards.

UNSW Engineering has the highest entry standards in Australia and the students we are recognising are therefore amongst the brightest of the bright. To excel here is to be the very best of the best.

Dean of Engineering Professor Mark Hoffman

Dean of Engineering Professor Mark Hoffman congratulated all the award winners for their “brilliance, patience and hard work”. He said the world would be a poorer place without engineers, and the Faculty was honoured to be supporting the future of engineering, both locally and globally, through its students, graduates and researchers.

“We know that the students receiving awards this evening have a very bright future ahead of them,” Professor Hoffman said.

“UNSW Engineering has the highest entry standards in Australia and the students we are recognising are therefore amongst the brightest of the bright. To excel here is to be the very best of the best.”

The Student Service awards were given to Albert Young from the School of Mining Engineering and Ling Ying Zheng of the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

Albert Young was honoured for being an “outstanding supporter and contributor” who made a tremendous contribution to the School’s various marketing and recruiting activities and who worked tirelessly to promote the School through varied outreach activities.

Ling Ying Zheng was honoured for volunteering hundreds of hours to the UNSW Women in Engineering program. She was the brains behind a new outreach program in 2017: My Story school visit and also facilitated workshops for the Experience It! student conference and Power of Engineering workshops.

The Student Services team award was given to Joseph Daher and Jacqui Orme for establishing The Engiqueers Society to provide a supportive queer network for students within the Faculty. One of the main objectives of Engiqueers is to connect queer engineering students with queer-friendly industry companies.

Other speakers on the night included the Master of Ceremonies Dr Ray Eaton who is Associate Dean (Education) at UNSW Engineering. Students were presented their individual awards by the Heads of Schools.

Congratulations to all Dean’s Award recipients.

Download photos from the night here.

The recipients are:

Dean’s Awards

Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering
Alexander Robert Bateman
Laurence Antony Boss
Alan Cen
Matthew Vong
Jason Xiang
Vicki Zhong

School of Chemical Engineering
Richard Lin Bin Chen
Jane Elizabeth Harding
Thomas James Hausman
Jonathan Andrew Hopkins
Hongzhe Li
Alan Felix Shenfield
Rosa Tran

School of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Akhlaaq Ahamed Jiffry
Jessica Grace Athayde
Matias Nicolas Braga San Martin
James Frank Dunn
Rachel Eliza Evans
Roy Fu
Prashanth Gunasekaran
Jefry Halim
Cameron Blake Jenkins
Jianan Jiang
Aaron Siang-Chek Lee
Xianxing Liu
Clinton Ngo Tran
Neil Conrad Sansome
Dan Su
Lachlan Jacob Sue
Bryan Wai Yan Tam
Sum Ching Allison Wong

School of Computer Science and Engineering
Gal Aharon
Josh Basserabie
Ethan Geoffrey Brown
Emily Yu-Hsin Chen
Matthew James Di Meglio
Brittany Jean Soultana Evat
Nicholas Raymond Hiebl
Mohammad Ishraq Huda
Jeremiah Lee-Xuan Iliffe
Mitchell Roy Johnston
Ray Li
Brian Manansala
Leon Nguyen
Kevin Zihong Ni
I Su Park
Alexander Rohan Hickie Rowell
Harrison Jay Scott
Jason Sengmany
Minjie Shen
Jessica Theodosius
Ian Daniel Thorvaldson
Kevin Quang Tran
Cadel James Watson
James Ye

School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications
Chris Joshi Adambukulam
Hazeem Adly Ariff
Wilfred Wing Fai Chan
Yun Xin Chen
Hideyoshi Cheong
Angus McKenzie Fletcher
Liam Christopher Hayes
Philip Yang Mai
Michael Ricardo Manansala
Hayden Mun-Hong Ooi
Jacob George Saad
Damian Sofrevski
Xinyi Tang
Victoria Shengli Xu

School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering
Juan Sebastian Avila Molina
Jake Robert Bradbury
Matthew Isaac Brand
Kang Wei Chan
Lucia Chen
Nanway Chen
William Chen
Alexander Eli Danon
Jack Nathan Engdahl
David Michael Hindmarsh
Briscoe John Kerferd
Kangying Lin
Shawn Roshan Manuel
James Newman McColl
Luke Robert Millstead
Samim Erez Ozyurteri
Oliver Daniel Richards
Arun Sathyan
Raymond Su
Victor Wong
Linda Wong
Isabella Yan
Calvin Zhou

School of Petroleum Engineering
Nikhil Kankarla
Anirudh Ramesh

School of Photovoltaic and Renewable Energy Engineering
Tyce Dylan Barton
Annabelle Jane Evans
Charlotte Florence Guthleben
Blake Andrew Kirby
Leslie Shaun Junsen Lay
Jonathon Fiaschi Yates

Student Service Awards - Individual
Albert Young
Ling Ying Zheng

Student Service Awards - Team
Joseph Daher (Engiqueers)
Jacqui Orme (Engiqueers)