Dean of Science Professor Emma Johnston has been appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for “distinguished service to higher education, particularly to marine ecology and ecotoxicology, as an academic, researcher and administrator, and to scientific institutes”.

Professor Johnston is a leading authority in marine ecology and her research has been recognised with numerous awards, including the 2014 Australian Academy of Science Nancy Millis Medal for Women in Science, the 2012 NSW Science and Engineering Award for Excellence in Biological Sciences and the Hynes Award from the Canadian Rivers Institute (2016).

In 2012, Professor Johnston was appointed the inaugural director of the Sydney Harbour Research Program at the Sydney Institute of Marine Science. As head of the Applied Marine and Estuarine Ecology Lab at UNSW, she has led more than 20 major research projects for industry, government, the Australian Research Council and the Australian Antarctic Science Program.

Professor Johnston is also a high-profile science communicator, winning the 2015 Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Australian Science Research. She is a regular media commentator and, as co-presenter for the Foxtel/BBC television series, Coast Australia, has helped take Australian marine science to an international audience.

She is President of Science & Technology Australia. As a leading authority in her field and a skilled communicator, Johnston has engaged with government and industry to influence policy. She is also an effective advocate for gender equity in science.

In total, more than 100 members of the UNSW academic community received honours. They included Emeritus Professor Brynn Hibbert from the UNSW School of Chemistry who was appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for “significant service to science in the discipline of chemistry, to professional societies, and to sport through illicit drug profiling”.

UNSW President and Vice-Chancellor Ian Jacobs congratulated all the recipients.

“Congratulations to the UNSW community members who received 2018 Queen’s Birthday Honours. The diversity of work that has been recognised demonstrates a pioneering spirit that is alive throughout the UNSW community,” Professor Jacobs said.

“Thank you for your contributions to our university, as well as the significant impact your work has on a global scale.”

For the full list of UNSW academics and alumni recognised in the Queen's Birthday Honours, click here