The UNSW Private Law Moot for 2019 has been a resounding success, with both the competitors and judges commenting favourably on the quality of each moot and the challenging nature of the problem question.

Fourteen teams from 12 law schools across Australia and abroad competed at the event which was sponsored by Allen & Overy and Hart Publishing. UNSW Law Professor Simone Degeling wrote the 2019 problem question which focused on issues in equity and trusts.

This year’s competition was organised by two current UNSW Law students, Rebecca Zhong and Isabel Chong. There were two days of preliminary round moots at UNSW’s Kensington campus, followed by a semi-final round. The grand final was held at the Allen & Overy offices in Sydney’s CBD. 

The preliminary rounds were judged by a range of barristers, solicitors and graduate lawyers. The semi-finals were judged by Michelle Painter SC (Ninth Floor Selborne Chambers), Derek Wong (Alinea Chambers), Agnieszka Deegan (Allen & Overy), the Honourable Joseph Campbell (University of Sydney), Karen Petch (New Chambers) and Robert Tang (Allen & Overy). 

The Honourable Justice Julie Kathryn Ward, Chief Judge in Equity of the NSW Supreme Court, Jessica Hudson, UNSW Law, and John Samaha, Partner, Allen & Overy, judged the grand final.

The University of Technology Sydney (UTS) team claimed this year’s crown and the University of Sydney took second place. UNSW Sydney and the University of Melbourne were also in the semi-final round.

The best speaker in the grand final was Grace Wade, UTS, and the best speaker in the preliminary rounds was Jonathan Tan, National University of Singapore. The best appellant and respondent written submissions went to Singapore Management University.

2019 Competing universities 

·    University of Sydney
·    University of Melbourne  
·    Macquarie University
·    National University of Singapore
·    Singapore Management University
·    Jindal Global University

·    University of New South Wales
·    University of Technology Sydney
·    University of Tasmania
·    University of Otago
·    University of the South Pacific
·    Christ University

Chloe Watson