On Friday 13 September we held a prizegiving ceremony in the Scientia's Leighton Hall to award high-achieving students who competed in the UNSW 58th Annual School Mathematics Competition. 

779 school students sat the examination throughout NSW and the ACT in June. It was run in Junior and Senior divisions.

School members Denis Potapov (Director of the Competition), Bruce Henry, Jim Franklin, Donna Salopek. Wolfgang Schief, Ian Doust, Jonathan Kress and John Steele formed the official procession for this year's ceremony. Awards were conferred to the high school students by Head of School Bruce Henry.

Dr Daniel Mansfield delivered this year's academic address, while our alumnus Jasmine Bermas, Graduate Data Analyst at Finity Consulting, delivered this year's occasional address.

Attendees enjoyed afternoon tea in the Scientia atrium following the ceremony. 

A big thank you to Julie Hebblewhite, Kaye Sedgers and Markie Lugton for their wonderful efforts in organising this year's event.