A number of UNSW Canberra alumni have been recognised in this year’s Australia Day honours.

  • Commander Joint Operations Lieutenant General Greg Bilton has been made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) “For distinguished service in the appointments of Deputy Commanding General of the United States Army in the Pacific, Deputy Chief of Joint Operations and Commander Forces Command.”
  • Air Commodore Wendy Blyth has been made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) “For exceptional service to the Australian Defence Force in C-130J Super Hercules sustainment reform; and in P-8A Poseidon capability development and system sustainment.”
  • Colonel Nicholas Foxall has been made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) “For exceptional service in command and leadership and significantly enhancing the operational effects and capabilities of the Australian Defence Force.”
  • Colonel Andrew Mcbaron has been made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) “For exceptional service as the Director of Officer Career Management - Army, Career Adviser for General Service Officer Lieutenant Colonels, and Staff Officer Grade One Establishments.”

The UNSW Canberra alumni were among a host of UNSW community members across a wide range of disciplines recognised in this year’s honours.

Commander Joint Operations Lieutenant General Greg Bilton © Commonwealth of Australia 2019


UNSW President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Jacobs said: “Congratulations to our honourees recognised for their contribution to the community and Australia.

“You were nominated by your peers for constantly putting others ahead of yourself, serving tirelessly and for making a difference. Thank you for your extraordinary work and efforts to improve the lives of people in Australia and around the world.”

UNSW Canberra alumnus Ben Farinazzo was named as an Australia Day Ambassador 2020. The Australia Day Ambassador Program sees inspirational Australians speak about what it truly means to be Australian at events across NSW.

UNSW congratulates all the members of its community who received 2020 Australia Day Honours.

The full lists of recipients are available at the website of the Governor-General.

A list of UNSW alumni who received Australia Day Honours in 2020 is available. 

Air Commodore Wendy Blyth © Commonwealth of Australia 2019


Other UNSW Canberra community members recognised in this year’s honours include:

Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

  • Mr Campbell Kevin Newman 

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

  • Dr Miles Gareth Jakeman 
  • Dr Peter Andreas Pedersen 

Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division

  • Mr Michael Benjamin Rahilly 
  • Mr Edward Peter Ralston 
  • Warrant Officer Class One Julie Anne Whittaker 

Member (AM) Military Division of the Order of Australia

  • Brigadier Stephen John Jobson CSC
  • Air Commodore Philip Stephen Gordon
  • Group Captain Leanne Patricia Lee
  • Air Commodore Gerald Anthony van Leeuwen CSM

Distinguished Service Cross (DSC)

  • Colonel Michael Andrew Say 
  • Rear Admiral Jaimie Charles Hatcher AM RAN  

Commendation for Distinguished Service

  • Captain Sands Niall Skinner RAN 
  • Major Joshua Eden Higgins
  • Brigadier Wade Bradley Stothart DSC AM CSC 
  • Colonel Gavin Andrew Stanford CSC 
  • Colonel Stephen John Gliddon AM 

Conspicuous Service Cross (CSC)

  • Captain Daniel John Leraye RAN  
  • Commander Anita Louise Sellick CSM RAN  
  • Lieutenant Colonel Glen Alan Billington
  • Lieutenant Colonel Darryl Robert Bridgeman
  • Lieutenant Colonel Brendan Mark Hogan
  • Squadron Leader Duncan John Flemington
  • Squadron Leader Sean Andrew Hamilton
  • Colonel Michael Rodney Ahern 
  • Captain Michael Bruce Devine RAN 
  • Wing Commander Matthew John Harper DSM 
  • Captain Anthony Bruce Miskelly RAN  
  • Lieutenant Colonel James Michael Smith  
  • Commander Darlene Maree Williams RAN 

Conspicuous Service Medal (CSM)

  • Lieutenant Commander Bernard Roy Dobson RAN 
  • Wing Commander Kylie Larrisa Green
  • Group Captain Robert John Elliott 
  • Colonel Craig Anthony Lauder
  • Squadron Leader Brayden Joseph Pirlo 

Public Service Medal (PSM)

  • Mr Nico Padovan