Winners on stage being presented with awards
The Doug Crawford Sports Recognition Awards are one of the categories open for new nominations for the 2021 event. Photo: UNSW Sport

With just over two weeks to go until nominations close for the UNSW Blues and Sport Awards, now is the time to get your nominations in order and send them through.

Due to the effects of COVID-19 on most sports during 2020, there will be a modified list of awards on offer at the 2021 event, as well as presenting the winners that would have received their awards at this year's cancelled event.

The awards now open for nominations are:

  • Team or Club of the Year
  • Female Student Athlete of the Year
  • Male Student Athlete of the Year
  • University Blue
  • Doug Crawford Sport Recognition Award
  • Alex Blackwell Award

The team / club, female student athlete and male student athlete awards will be presented to groups or indviduals who have either demonstrated exceptional community spirit; overcome adversity; shown resilience and determination; helped others in their sporting community; exhibited creativity, ingenuity, and positivity; or achieved sporting excellence.

The University Blue is the highest sporting honour that UNSW presents and is presented to current students who have been outstanding performers in their sport, participating at the highest level for a minimum of two years as well as upholding the UNSW values through their sporting and academic achievements.

Doug Crawford Sport Recognition Awards are presented to either students or community members who demonstrate continuous outstanding contributions to sport at UNSW. The winners will have actively supported their club for five years, either by consistent participation in the club's sporting or recreational activity or by valuable service to the club's organisation and administration.

The Alex Blackwell Award has been newly introduced for 2021 in support of the UNSW Women's Sport and Active Recreation Strategy. It is named in honour of UNSW alumna and former Australian cricket captain Alex Blackwell, who has been a long-time advocate for women in sport. The winner of this award will either be an advocate for women and girls in sport and active recreation, a trailblazer for women in the leadership of a sporting club or organisation, a coach or program developer who has increased women’s participation in sport or a role model for girls and women who want to participate or be involved in sport.

Nominations are open now on our website and tickets are on sale through Eventbrite.