Some of UNSW Canberra’s top researchers have been recognised with Australian Research Council’s Discovery Projects 2021 grants and project funding announced by the Minister for Education Dan Tehan.

The project funding has been awarded to diverse areas across the University’s research priorities, including high-speed aviation aerodynamics, advanced algorithms for problem-solving and exploring tropical cyclones' role in climate systems.

Professor Andrew Neely, Dr Bianca Capra, Associate Professor Harald Kleine and Professor David Buttsworth have received funding to further study fluid-thermal-structural interactions on high-speed aerospace vehicles. Their work addresses fundamental issues of aerodynamic heating through ground-breaking experiments, potentially informing how the next generation of hypersonic transport progresses.

Funding for Professor Ruhul Sarker and Dr Daryl Essam will help develop robust decision-making tools for the solving of high dimensional problems. Their research examines frameworks and techniques that can lead to significant cost savings and improved outcomes in critical practical processes.

Professor Elizabeth Ritchie-Tyo and Professor Scott Tyo’s study into tropical cyclones and their role in the climate system was also recognised. Their research will help better understand long-term tropical cyclone variability, assisting cyclone-vulnerable regions and industries along Australia’s northwest coast.

Projects including UNSW Canberra researchers Dr Tristan Moss, Dr Duncan Sutherland, Dr Peter Balint and Professor Jason Sharples were also recognised in the 2021 funding round.

Dr Moss was also the recipient of an Australian Research Council’s (ARC) Discovery Early Career Research Award (DECRA) this month.