Established in 2013 by the Higher Degree Committee, these awards acknowledge UNSW Law & Justice’s top PhD candidates who receive two “A’s” from examiners for their PhD thesis.

The recipients of the 2020 round of the Award (together with their topics and supervisors), are as follows:

  • Lauren Butterly; ‘Reconciling Indigenous and Settler-State Assertions of Sovereignty Over Sea Country in Australia’s Northern Territory’, (supervisors: Sean Brennan, Megan Davis, Bronwen Morgan)

  • Anna Cody; ‘How Does Clinical Legal Education Contribute to Forming Reflective, Justice-focused Lawyers?’ (supervisors: Alex Steel, Judith Welch Wegner)

  • Bradley Gooding; ‘Plurality in Legal Reasoning - The Place of Value Pluralism in Theories of Law and Adjudication’, (supervisors: Marc De Leeuw, Arthur Glass)