Professor Susan Coppersmith, Head of the School of Physics at UNSW, has been elected as a 2021 Fellow to the Australian Academy of Science.

For more than 70 years, the Academy has provided independent, authoritative, and influential scientific advice.  The Academy’s goal is to promote international scientific engagement, build public awareness and understanding of science, and champion excellence in Australian science.

According to the President of the Academy, Professor John Shine, the new 2021 Fellows have made outstanding contributions to their scientific fields on the world stage.

“These researchers have not only been at the forefront of Australia's scientific community, but have also been leaders in global science,” he says.

The Academy specifically acknowledges Professor Coppersmith’s contribution to several subjects in condensed matter, focusing on the fundamental nature of systems that are far from thermal equilibrium. She has developed theories unifying phenomena that are observed in areas as diverse as population biology, biomineralization, granular materials, and superfluidity. Working closely with experimentalists, she has also made important contributions to the development of quantum dot qubits in silicon/silicon-germanium heterostructures.