UNSW Business School staff scoop the pool at the 2021 AFAANZ Conference awards. 

Our talented academics from the School of Accounting, Auditing & Taxation (AATX)  won awards in number of categories at the recent Accounting and Finance Association of Australia and New Zealand Annual Conference.

Best Paper award category winners included Lecturer Sander De Groote, Professor Gary Monroe, Associate Professor Lili Dai, and Lecturer Zihang Peng.

Lecturer Yitang Yang and Lecturer Ulrike Thurheimer (with Emeritus Professor Roger Simnett) along with Senior Lecturer Leonard Li and Lecturer Zihang Peng won AFAANZ Research Grants. 

Our amazing PhD graduate Emma McDaid won the best PhD prize, while Lecturer Ulrike Thurheimer’s dissertation was highly commended.  

Lecturer Sander De Groote was a second-time winner in the Outstanding Reviewer Award category.


Professor Gary Monroe_School of Accounting, Auditing and Taxation

Professor Gary Monroe, a renowned auditing professor, gave a fantastic plenary presentation on current knowledge and future research on audit quality.  



Finally, we congratulate Scientia Fellow Andrew Jackson for assuming his elected position as AFAANZ President. 

We can’t wait for another exciting AFAANZ conference, and more AATX success at it, in 2022!