More than 30 UNSW Canberra graduates have been recognised for their outstanding service and contribution to the country with Australia Day honours.

Their contributions spanned fields including overseas military operations, assistance during the COVID-19 pandemic and service to veterans.

Major General Christopher Field received the highest level of Distinguished Service Decoration – the Distinguished Service Cross. He was recognised for distinguished command and leadership in warlike operations as the Deputy Commanding General - Operations, United States Army Central and on operational service in the Middle East Region.

Two graduates were appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) – Major General Matthew Hall and Rear Admiral Jaimie Hatcher. The award recognises distinguished service of a high degree to Australia or to humanity at large.

Major General Hall was recognised for distinguished service and exceptional leadership as Chief of Staff, Headquarters Joint Operations Command, the Director Defence Intelligence Organisation and the Australian Military Representative to the North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

Rear Admiral Hatcher was recognised for distinguished service to the Australian Defence Force in senior command roles.

General Susan Coyle was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for exceptional performance of duty as the Commander Joint Task Force 633 on Operation ACCORDION from January to November 2020.

James McMahon was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to veterans and their families, and to the community.

The recipients are among 1040 Australians who were honoured.

Governor-General David Hurley thanked the recipients for their contribution to Australia.

“Collectively the recipients, whose achievements span community service, science and research, industry, sport, the arts and more, represent the strength and diversity of Australia,” General Hurley said.

“It has been a challenging couple of years and the recipients announced today are a reminder and reflection of the richness of spirit, selflessness and good in our community.”

Other UNSW Canberra community members recognised in this year’s honours include:

Ian Ahearn OAM
Davin Augustine AM
James Badgery AM
Daniel Bailey CSM
Jeremy Bechtel CSC
Kathryn Campbell CSC
Kate Carriage CSM
Jacqueline Churchill AM
Dean Commons CSC
Katey D’Costa CSM
Gavin Duncan AM
Roger Emmerson OAM
Samuel Harkiss CSM
Kelly Haywood CSC
Damon Higginbotham CSC
Stephen Jobson CDS
Simon Johnstone CDS
Cameron Laing CSM
Nicole Longley AM
Adrian Maso AM
Roger McMurray CSC
Eric Modderman CDS
Rebecca Olsen CSM
David Savina CSC
Edmund Wunsch CSC