A Golden Jubilee reunion of members of our surveying Class of ’72 took place in May with a lunch at the UNSW Lounge, attended by 23 alumni, five with partners, three former surveying academic staff (Len Berlin, Dr Tony Robinson, and Emeritus Professor John Trinder) and the Head of School of Civil & Environmental Engineering Professor Nasser Khalili.

A PowerPoint display shown at the lunch included photos contributed by several alumni of various staff and student activities during their time of study, many from adventurous survey camps (including one seemingly spent primarily panning for gold!)

The group was then provided with a guided tour of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Building, with Dr Bruce Harvey also giving alumni a brief overview of the present courses available to our students.

Event organiser Ron Lister said he was very pleased that the 50 Year Reunion was able to be held ‘in spite of the covid pandemic continuing to impact on our lives.’  He was grateful that attendees were prepared to take a risk by firstly committing to attending the reunion & then to turn up. ‘From the feedback I have received, it seems that most, if not all those attending had a very enjoyable time.’

Ron also thanked fellow alumnus Dennis Clark for his assistance during the lead up to the reunion, on the day and the creation of the Dropbox account for sharing photos and stories.  ‘It certainly made my job a lot easier! It was also very much appreciated that the current Head of School, Professor Nasser Khalili, joined us for lunch. 

Congrats to all our alumni and thank you for coming back to campus!

50th Anniversary Reunion of the 1972 Class of Surveying Graduates at UNSW on 24 May 2022 - Lunch in ‘The Lounge’, UNSW

Front Row (L to R): Ron Lister (1972), Len Berlin (retired Surveying Lecturer), Emeritus Professor John Trinder (retired Surveying Lecturer), Dr Tony Robinson (retired Surveying Lecturer) & Ian Lloyd (1972)

Rear (L to R): Bill Pigg (1972), Geoff Meers (1972), David Loomes (1972), Phillip Smith (1972), Bob Hanna (1972), Robert Hanger (1973), John O’Keefe (1972) (partially obscured), Bob Harrison (1973), Grahame Kelly (1972), Dennis Clarke (1972), Malcolm Drummond (1972), Dennis Daly  (1972) (partially obscured), Rick Dunstan (1972), Jim Steed (1972), Terry Cooke (1973), Joe Blicharz (1972) & Ken Sullivan (1972) (partially obscured)

Absent from photo: Peter Friedmann (1973), Ian Jones (1972) & Jim Ollis (1973)