NSW Vice-Chancellor and President, Professor Attila Brungs joined The Hon Michael McCormack, MP, Member for Riverina to formally mark the beginning of construction of the new Biomedical Sciences Centre at the UNSW Rural Clinical Campus in Wagga Wagga.

“Breaking ground today physically marks a significant milestone in our long-standing commitment to supporting regional health outcomes,” Professor Brungs said.

“At UNSW, we have a strong and genuine commitment to supporting the growth of the rural health workforce and we recognise the invaluable partnerships that have supported us to realise this vison.

“Our long-standing vision for this medical school would not have been possible without the support of the federal government and the unwavering passion of The Hon Michael McCormack MP; the Biomedical Sciences Centre Oversight Council, the Murrumbidgee Local Health District and our local community,” he said.

The Centre will house a state-of-the-art purpose-built facility that will change the way medical students are trained in Australian rural, regional and remote communities thanks to a $21 million commitment from the federal government – part of a $74 million investment in the Murray-Darling Medical Schools Network (MDMSN). 

Associate Dean and Head of School of Clinical Medicine (Rural) UNSW Medicine & Health, Professor Tara Mackenzie highlighted the Centre’s invaluable role in supporting the region’s workforce and community connections.

“This facility will allow us to train country medical students from start to finish in Wagga Wagga, and then support these students to gain meaningful employment as country practitioners and regional medical specialists in collaboration with the local health district,” Professor Mackenzie said.

“Our students are capable, confident and understand deeply their rural connections. They are themselves are members of this community and will leave our university as ambassadors for excellence in rural health.”

UNSW Vice-Chancellor Prof Attila Brungs turns sod with The Hon. Michael McCormack MP, Member for Riverina