UNSW academics, alumni, colleagues, former colleagues, and community members have been acknowledged in the Australia Day Honours List 2023 in recognition of their outstanding achievements and contributions across a broad range of fields.

UNSW Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Attila Brungs congratulated members of the UNSW community who have been recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours.

“These honours celebrate your outstanding achievements and contributions to local communities and to the Australian nation. Thank you for your exceptional commitment to improving the lives of your fellow Australians and humanity more broadly.”  

The Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd), said: “Congratulations to the outstanding Australians recognised in today’s Honours List. The recipients have had a significant impact at the local, national and international level and are, quite simply, inspiring.

“They go above and beyond, are from all over the country, and contribute every day in every way imaginable. These are the people who see us through good times and bad. They’re the first to show up and the last to leave.

“They’re almost always humble to a fault but I urge recipients, for today, to put aside that humility – it’s important they know how much they are valued.

“It is encouraging to see an increase in diversity in the Order of Australia. Each recipient has something in common – someone nominated them. The Order belongs to each of us, and we each have a part to play. The only way a person can be recognised is for someone to nominate them.”

A list of Australia Day Honours received by members of the UNSW community can be found below.

Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AO)

Peter Andrew Jennings, former lecturer, politics and international relations, Australian Defence Force Academy, UNSW Canberra. For distinguished service to the development of strategic and international policy, and to public affairs.

Adjunct Professor Merran Kelsall, former Professor of Practice, Business School of Accounting, Auditing and Taxation, UNSW Business School. For distinguished service to the financial accounting sector, to professional organisations, and to the community.

Jill McKeough, former Professor of Law, Head of School, UNSW Law & Justice. For distinguished service to intellectual property law, to tertiary education, to law reform, and to professional organisations.

Ian Ramsay, former Associate Dean and Senior Lecturer, UNSW Law & Justice. For distinguished service to the law, to regulatory bodies, to tertiary education, and to law reform.

Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM)

Professor Robert Brander, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences, UNSW Science. For significant service to coastal science, and to the community, through beach safety research and education.

Associate Professor Paula Dawson, College of Fine Arts, UNSW Arts, Design & Architecture. For significant service to the visual arts, and to research in holographic technology.

Stephen John Duckett, former Academic, School of Health Administration, UNSW Medicine & Health. For significant service to public health policy and management, and to tertiary education.

Professor Elizabeth Fernandez, School of Social Sciences, UNSW Arts, Design & Architecture. For significant service to education, to social justice, and to professional associations.

Brian Kelly, former Conjoint Associate Professor, School of Psychiatry, UNSW Medicine & Health. For significant service to medical education, and to professional organisations.

Conjoint Professor Edwin Philip Kirk, School of Women's and Children's Health, UNSW Medicine & Health. For significant service to genetic pathology and clinical genetics, and to medical research.

Barry Nurcombe, former Senior Lecturer/Associate Professor in Child Psychiatry, UNSW Medicine & Health. For significant service to medicine as a psychiatrist, and to tertiary education.

Lisa Joy O’Brien, former Dean's Advisory Council Member, UNSW Medicine & Health. For significant service to the community, particularly through social welfare organisations.

David Polson, Guest Lecturer, The Kirby Institute, UNSW Medicine & Health. For significant service to community health through HIV education and advocacy roles.

Gary Shiels, former member of the Advisory Committee Planning Program and former Chairman, Bplan Advisory Committee. For significant service to town planning, and to the community.

Nicola Wakefield Evans, Non-executive Officer, University of NSW Foundation and former Member of the Law School Advisory Board, UNSW Law & Justice. For significant service to business, to the law, and to diversity.

Medal in the General Division of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Leanne Clarke, casual academic, School of Psychology, UNSW Science. For service to community health.

Geoffrey Page, former Visiting Fellow, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, UNSW Canberra and former writer-in-residence. Australian poet, novelist, editor and biographer since 1971. For service to literature as a poet.  

Julie Loblinzk, Adjunct Lecturer, School of Education, UNSW Arts, Design & Architecture and Guest Lecturer. For service to people with disability.  

Dr Ian McCrossin, Conjoint Doctor at South Western Sydney Clinical School, UNSW Medicine & Health. For service to dermatology.

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Associate Professor Amanda Jayne Craig, School of Clinical Medicine, UNSW Medicine & Health. For outstanding public service in leading significant and complex safety and performance reviews of medical devices.

UNSW congratulates all the members of its community who received 2023 Australia Day Honours.

Find the full list of recipients on the Governor-General’s website.

Read the list of UNSW alumni who received awards.