Thirty UNSW Canberra alumni have been recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours list for their outstanding contribution to the Australian Defence Force.

They form part of the 1042 Australians decorated in this year’s honours list.

Governor-General David Hurley congratulated all the recipients and highlighted the impact their service had on communities at the local, national and international level.

“Recipients come from all parts of the country.  They have served and had an impact in just about every field you can imagine; their stories and backgrounds are diverse. We value their service, thank them for their hard work and selflessness and, today, celebrate them,” the Governor-General said.

“To each recipient: know that you have the thanks and respect of your nation. In my experience most are humble and often try to deflect attention or praise – please enjoy the moment because your country has decided that you deserve recognition."

The UNSW Canberra alumni recognised in the 2024 Australia Day Honours are:

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

  • Air Commodore Gretchen Fryar
  • Brigadier David Hafner CSC
  • Commodore Peter Leavy CSM RAN
  • Major General Jason Walk
  • Rear Admiral Matthew Buckley CSC RAN
  • Group Captain David Clyde CSM
  • Group Captain Hannah Jude-Smith

Conspicuous Service Cross (CSC)

  • Lieutenant Colonel Benjamin Watson
  • Colonel John Dougall
  • Commodore Gustaaf Nord-Thomson
  • Group Captain Daniel Drinan
  • Mr David Evans
  • Brigadier Mark Armstrong
  • Commander Nathan Lockhart
  • Lieutenant Colonel Alana Burkitt
  • Squadron Leader Malith Jayasinghe
  • Air Commodore Scott Parry AM
  • Wing Commander Brett Clarke
  • Wing Commander Andrew Jackson OAM
  • Mr Jonathan Pollard
  • Colonel Michael King

Conspicuous Service Medal (CSM)

  • Squadron Leader Melissa Vreugdenburg
  • Lieutenant Colonel Meng Wang
  • Lieutenant Commander Michael Copland
  • Major Sally Williamson
  • Lieutenant Commander Simon Abley
  • Captain Roger Fonhof
  • Commander Peter Shirley
  • Captain Jackson Cail
  • Warrant Officer Steven McConnachie


The full 2024 Australia Day Honours List is available at the website of the Governor-General.