UNSW School of Optometry & Vision Science’s annual prizegiving and graduation function was a resounding success, celebrating the outstanding achievements of our students across years 1-5.  Held on 2 May 2024 at South Maroubra, the event brought together donors, key stakeholders, staff, students, friends, and family to recognise excellence and dedication.

Our congratulations go out to all prize winners who have demonstrated dedication to their studies and who were recognised accordingly at the annual prizegiving.  We also extend our gratitude to the many donors in attendance.

We were delighted to have Professor Gary Velan, Senior Vice Dean, Education join us and address the audience on behalf of the Faculty of Medicine & Health and hand out certificates to the prize winners.  We express our appreciation to Ms Amanda Lea, Education Focused Lecturer at SOVS for her keynote address.  Her inspiring words of encouragement resonated with the audience, sparking a wave of enthusiasm and ambition in our emerging leaders.

We extend our sincere appreciation to our sponsors, BOC Opthalmic Instruments Pty Ltd and EssilorLuxottica, for their generous support of the graduation luncheon.   

For a full list of prize winners, please see here.

Congratulations once again to all our prize winners with a special mention to Iris Huang, who was awarded the prestigious University Medal.  This significant milestone was fittingly acknowledged at the graduation ceremony held later that day.