Indigenous Admission Scheme (IAS)

The Indigenous Admission Scheme (IAS) is an alternative entry pathway providing Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people to gain entry into a UNSW undergraduate degree of your dream.

Entry through IAS is based on consideration on your relevant life, work, educational, volunteer and training experience as preparation for study, in addition to any formal qualifications. Assessment for entry is administrated by Nura Gili in conjunction with UNSW Admission Office, Faculties and Schools across the university.

IAS is only open for degree programs that are outside our Indigenous Pre-Programs. If you are interested in Business, Education, Law, Medicine, Social Work or Science & Engineering apply via our UNSW Indigenous Pre-Program.

Apply directly through us, not ATAR dependent
Suitable for non-school leavers
Applications are open three times a year, with entry into each term

How does IAS work?

Entry to UNSW through this program means consideration is given to an applicant’s relevant life, work, educational and training experience as preparation for study. Entry to undergraduate UNSW degrees via this program involves three components:

  1. Lodge an application with the Universities Admission Centre (UAC) for the UNSW undergraduate degree program that you wish to study. Your UAC application number is required for the next step. 
  2. Complete the online UNSW Indigenous Admission Scheme application and attach all supporting documentation.
  3. Your application will be assessed and if successful you will be invited to attend an interview and complete a written task related to your degree preference. Interviews are conducted with a representative from Nura Gili and faculties and/or schools.
Student holding arts and crafts

Who can apply?

All Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people can apply to UNSW through the UNSW Indigenous Admission Scheme, and it is available for undergraduate courses at UNSW.

You can apply if you have not completed school or achieved a requisite ATAR score for entry into your preferred course of study. This admission scheme is designed to assess your capacity to study at a tertiary level in your preferred area of study.

What supporting documents do I need to submit?

Confirmation of Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Identity

While Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander identity is unique and sacred to every person. All applicants are required to provide proof of their Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander identity and heritage.

For recent school leavers:

  • You will need to supply copies of your year 11 & 12 school reports; transcripts of any other studies/courses undertaken; and any other awards or achievements such as work experience, extracurricular activities etc.

For applicants who completed school before 2023:

  • You will need to supply copies of the final school read reports and details of the course(s), if recent; a CV/resume detailing work experience and education or training undertaken since leaving school; and anything else that can support your application.

Discover more

Indigenous Preparatory Program (Pre-Program)

Do you want to study in the areas of Business, Law, Medicine, Social Work, Education, or Science & Engineering?
Find out more


UNSW offers a wide range of scholarships for undergraduate and postgraduate students.
Find out more


More than just accommodation, it’s a community. Living on campus is a big decision - we know you’ll find your place at UNSW.

Find out more


Depending on your circumstances, cost of living can be overwhelming. ABSTUDY can help.
Find out more
opens in a new window

Get in touch with us your preferred way

If you have any questions or would like more information about the program, please contact us or subscribe to Nura Gili to stay up to date with the latest news, updates, engagements and events.

Acknowledgement of Country

UNSW is located on the unceded territory of the Bidjigal/Bedegal (Kensington campus), Gadigal (City and Paddington campuses) and Ngunnawal peoples (Canberra) who are the Traditional Owners of the lands where each campus of UNSW is situated.