Associate Professor Helga Zoega
Associate Professor

Associate Professor Helga Zoega



PhD (Public Health), 2011, University of Iceland

MA (Quantitative Methods in the Social Sciences), 2006, Columbia University

BA (Political Science), 2001, University of Iceland

Medicine & Health
School of Population Health


Helga Zoega is a pharmacoepidemiologist with expertise in utilisation and safety of medicines among vulnerable populations (e.g. pregnant women, children). She is a Scientia Fellow at UNSW's Centre for Big Data Research in Health (CBDRH) with close ties to the Nordic countries as a Professor of Public Health at the University of Iceland. Helga´s program of work is primarily based on "big data", i.e. large-scale electronic health and social data linked across sources within the five Nordic countries, recently also combined with US and Australian data sources. Her current research is focused on the immediate and longer-term consequences pharmacotherapy in pregnancy, e.g. with psychotropics and antihypertensives, on maternal and child health.


Helga graduated from Columbia University with a MA degree in Quantitative Methods in the Social Sciences (2006) and earned a PhD in Public Health from the University of Iceland (2011). She was a postdoctoral fellow in Epidemiology at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York (2011-2013) and has been a faculty member of Medicine at the University of Iceland since 2012 (professor in 2016). She was awarded a UNSW Scientia Fellowship in Medicine in 2018 and works within the Medicines Policy Research Unit at CBDRH.



My Research Supervision

Current postdocs:

Óskar Örn Hálfdánarson, International Pregnancy drug Safety Study (2019- )

Current doctoral students:

Bianca Varney, Scientia Scholar (primary supervision, 2020- )

Caudia Bruno (primary supervision, 2020- )

Jared Brown, Scientia Scholar (co-supervision, 2019- )

Smriti Raichand (joint primary supervision, 2017- )

Current masters/honours students:

Dominique Favell (2019- )


Previous postdocs:

Sujita Narayan (2018-19)

Previous doctoral students:

Óskar Örn Hálfdánarson, University of Iceland (2019)

Emma Marie Swift, University of Iceland (2019)

Védís Helga Eiríksdóttir, University of Iceland (2016)

Previous masters/honours students: 

Claudia Bruno Hon. (2018)

Friðgeir Andri Sverrisson MPH (2016)

Kristjana Pálsdóttir MPH (2016)

Dagný Baldvinsdóttir MPH (2016)

Bryndís Kristjánsdóttir MPH (2015)

Vigdís Jóhannsdóttir MPH (2015)

Hrafnhildur Halldórsdóttir MPH (2015)

Aðalbjörg Guðsteinsdóttir MPH (2014)

Þuríður Anna Guðnadóttir MPH (2014)

Drífa Pálín Geirsdóttir MPH (2014)

Ingibjörg Kjartansdóttir MPH (2011)   

Ragnhildur Guðrún Finnbjörnsdóttir MSc (2010) 

Díana Óskarsdóttir MPH (2010)

Hanne Krage-Carlsen MPH (2010)

Hugrún Elfa Hjaltadóttir MPM (2009)   

Anna Lára Steingrímsdóttir MSc (2008)