Professor Lyndon Jones

Professor Lyndon Jones

Adjunct Professor


July 2018                    Aston University

                                    DSc honoris causa

1992 - 1998                 Biomaterials Research Unit, Department of Chemical Engineering,

Aston University, Birmingham.

Supervisor - Professor Brian Tighe.

PhD: Thesis title - "Ocular Compatibility of Hydrogel Contact Lens Materials".

1982 ‑ 1985                 University of Wales, Cardiff

Registered on Honours Degree Course in Ophthalmic Optics.

BSc (Hons) Class 2. Division 1 in Ophthalmic Optics.

Medicine & Health
School of Optometry and Vision Science

Lyndon Jones is a Professor at the School of Optometry and Vision Science, University Research Chair and Director of the Centre for Ocular Research & Education (CORE) at the University of Waterloo. He graduated in Optometry from the University of Wales in 1985 and gained his PhD in Chemical Engineering from the Biomaterials Research Unit at Aston University, Birmingham, UK in 1998. He was awarded an honorary DSc by Aston University in July 2018. He holds three of the higher clinical awards granted by the UK College of Optometrists, is a Fellow of the American Academy of Optometry, in which he is a Diplomate in Cornea and Contact Lenses, and is also a Fellow of both the International Association of Contact Lens Educators (IACLE) and the British Contact Lens Association (BCLA).

His research interests primarily focus on the interaction of novel and existing contact lens materials with the ocular environment, dry eye and the development of novel materials for ocular drug delivery. He has authored over 400 refereed and professional papers, one text-book and given over 1000 invited lectures at conferences worldwide, in over 40 countries. He has been awarded over 30 national and international awards, including Fellowship of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, the 2014 “Glenn Fry Award” from the American Academy of Optometry (AAO), 2014 “Donald Korb Award” from the American Optometric Association and 2013 “Max Schapero Award” from the Cornea and Contact Lens Section of the AAO.

School of Optometry & Vision Science Level 3 North Wing Rupert Myers Building Gate 14 Barker Street UNSW Sydney NSW 2052

  1. Elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in Division 6 of Academy III (Applied Sciences and Engineering) of the Royal Society of Canada (FRSC), Sept 2021.
  2. Recipient (along with K Walsh, J Nichols, M Willcox & P Morgan) of the 2020 Vision Care Section “Outstanding Scientific Paper/Project Award” of the American Public Health Association (APHA) for the two published papers related to the COVID-19 pandemic (“The ocular surface, coronaviruses and COVID-19” and “The COVID-19 pandemic: Important considerations for contact lens practitioners”), Oct 2020.
  3. AOCLE Lester Janoff Cornea & Contact Lens Memorial Award, May 2019. 
  4. British Contact Lens Association Medal, May 2019. 
  5. IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year for the Americas region, Oct 2018. 
  6. Elected a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS), Sept 2017. 
  7. PCON 250, Oct 2016. This is “a list of 250 optometrists who practice progressively, provide innovative patient care, conduct optometric research or excel in academia and share what they have learned with other optometrists to advance the profession.”
  8. 30 Most Influential Global Contact Lens Researchers, Sept 2016.
  9. 50 Most Influential in Optometry, Sept 2015. 
  10. Barcelona International Optometrist of the Year, Sept 2015. 
  11. American Optometric Foundation “Glenn Fry Award”, Nov 2014. 
  12. American Optometric Association (AOA) Contact Lens and Cornea Section “Donald Korb Award”, Jun 2014. 
  13. Cornea and Contact Lens Section of the American Academy of Optometry “Max Schapero Memorial Lecture”, Oct 2013. 
  14. University of Waterloo, “University Research Chair”, July 2012. 
  15. “George Giles Memorial Lecturer”, March 2011. 
  16. Allan Walker Medal, September 2007. 
  17. American Academy of Optometry and the American Optometric Foundation “Michael G Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education”, December 2006. 
  18. University of Waterloo, “Distinguished Teacher Award”, April 2005 (see http://www.adm. and 12tu.html).